Season 78 awards: Marck Espejo completes MVP hattrick

Can anyone stop Marck Jesus Espejo?

Only on his third playing year, the Ateneo wunderkind will be named MVP of the UAAP for the third straight time, according to a document obtained by FOX Sports Monday afternoon.

Leading the Blue Spikers to the championship round for the third consecutive year, Espejo will be feted, along with other stellar individual performers, before Game 2 on Wednesday at the Mall of Asia Arena.

The Marikina native put on another outstanding season, also topping the Best Spiker and Best Server races.

Only the first rookie to win MVP honors in Season 76, Espejo is also the first-ever UAAP men’s volleyball player to bag the top individual honors for three straight tournaments.

NU stud James Natividad will be awarded Rookie of the Year while La Salle senior Raymark Woo, who’s handled the Green Spikers’ offensive load this year, will be named Best Scorer.

Ateneo playmaker Ish Polvorosa is Best Setter, NU rookie Ricky Marcos is Best Digger while Ed Camposano of UE and Rikko Marmeto of FEU take home the Best Blocker and Best Receiver plums, respectively.