Biggest gap between PGA wins

Here are some of the golfers on the PGA Tour that make Harrington's gap between wins look no too bad.


15 years, 6 months

In the PGA the biggest gap between wins is 15 years, 6 months (March 25, 1990-September 25, 2005) for American golfer Robert Gamez. He won twice in 1990, the second victory coming at the Nestle Invitational. 

But his next victory didn't come for another 15-years, at the 2005 Texas Open. That was a stretch of 396 starts for Gamez.


15 years, 5 months, 10 days
Butch Baird (May 7, 1961-October 17, 1976) is number two on the PGA list. Baird won two official PGA Tour events during his career: the 1961 Waco Turner Open and the 1976 San Antonio Texas Open. 

The San Antonio victory came 15 years, 5 months and 10 days after the Waco win, and was the record for longest time span between victories in PGA history until eclipsed by Robert Gamez in 2005. He made 240 starts before winning again.


14 years, 8 months, 2 days
Ed Fiori (January 17, 1982-September 15, 1996) is number three. Fiori won four tournaments on the PGA Tour. His first win was at the 1979 Southern Open. 

His last victory at the 1996 Quad City Classic led to the postponement of his plans to retire from the game and become a charter-boat captain. Fiori's previous PGA tour victory was 14 years earlier, at the 1982 Bob Hope Desert Classic. He made 409 starts before winning again.


13 years, 8 months
Tommy Armour III (January 28, 1990-September 28, 2003), is number four on the list tied with Joey Sindelar.  

He has two career PGA Tour victories, winning the 1990 Phoenix Open and the 2003 Valero Texas Open. 

Armour currently holds the scoring record for best overall score 72 hole score (254), which he set with his Valero Texas Open victory in 2003. He made 366 starts before winning again.


13 years, 8 months
Joey Sindelar (September 9, 1990 – May 9, 2004) He won seven PGA Tour events, and was one of the most consistent players on the Tour with more than 80 top-10 finishes in his career.

His 13-year gap between wins was between Hardee's Golf Classic in 1990 to the Wachovia Championship in 2004. He made 370 starts before winning again.