No Vakatawa for France

France have named their 13-man squad for the opening round of the 2016/17 World Rugby Sevens Series, which starts in Dubai on December 2.

Head coach Frédéric Pomarel will take an experienced crop of players but with one notable omission in dangerous finisher Virimi Vakatawa.

Vakatawa was picked for France's 15s side earlier in the year and recently scored a hat-trick against Samoa and one try against Australia.

One player that will be in Dubai, however, is captain Terry Bouhraoua, a stalwart of France's sevens set-up and a player with 174 matches and 914 points to his name. The 29-year-old will be joined by the likes of familiar names Julien Candelon, Stephen Parez, Jonathan Laugel and Pierre-Gilles Lakafia.

France finished 11th overall in the 2015/16 series, winning the Bowl (now called the Challenge Trophy) in Dubai. Their best performances of the series came in Cape Town and Paris, where they finished third at both rounds. They will face Australia, Kenya and Japan in Pool D in Dubai. 

France squad for Dubai 7s: Jérémy Aicardi, Jean-Pascal Barraque, Terry Bouhraoua (captain), Julien Candelon, Manöel Dall Igna, Alexandre Gracbling, Vincent Inigo, Pierre-Gilles Lakafia, Jonathan Laugel, Jean-Baptiste Mazoue, Kelegh Moutome, Stephen Parez, Sacha Valleau