Dixon chosen to lead Maori All Blacks

Hawke's Bay hooker Ash Dixon has replaced Charlie Ngatai as captain of a new-look Maori All Blacks squad for their three-match tour in November.

Six new caps have been named in the side including this year’s New Zealand Under 20 captain, Wellington’s Leni Apisai.

Maori All Blacks Head Coach Colin Cooper congratulated all those selected. "This is an exciting time for all those involved in this special team," he said.

"We’re delighted with the squad we have announced – we think there’s an incredible mix of experience and very wise heads, and a special crop of new talent that has been exciting to watch in action in Super Rugby and Mitre 10 Cup.

"This team continues to be an important opportunity for players looking to push for higher honours. We are particularly delighted for Rieko Ioane who was named for the first time with the All Blacks on Sunday – and he joins several Maori All Blacks who have earned a call-up to the All Blacks in recent years – Nehe Milner Skudder, Codie Taylor, Tawera Kerr-Barlow, Joe Moody, Brad Weber, Elliot Dixon, Liam Squire, Damian McKenzie and last year’s skipper Charlie Ngatai currently unavailable due to concussion."

Maori All Blacks: 
Leni Apisai, Tim Bateman, Otere Black, Shane Christie, Ash Dixon (c), Whetu Douglas, Jason Emery, Chris Eves, Tom Franklin, Billy Guyton, Kane Hames, Akira Ioane, Mike Kainga, James Lowe, Ben May, Marty McKenzie, Leyton Price, Reed Prinsep, Matt Proctor, Kara Pryor, Marcell Renata, Joe Royal, Jacob Skeen, Sean Wainui, Brad Weber, Ihaia West