Higginbotham returns to Reds

Former Wallabies number eight Scott Higginbotham has signed a three-year contract to rejoin the Reds at the start of the 2017 Super Rugby season. 

Higginbotham will join the Brisbane-baaed outfit at the completion of his Japanese contract.

The 32-Test veteran's return was confirmed on Wednesday when the Reds announced their Super Rugby squad for 2017 which included 13 new signings in total.

30-year-old Higginbotham will join playmaker Quade Cooper and Wallaby captain Stephen Moore among the players returning to the 2011 Super Rugby champions.

Higginbotham played for the Melbourne Rebels from 2013 to 2015, while Cooper spent the past year with Top 14 outfit Toulon and Moore rejoins from the Brumbies.

Former Brumbies and Wallabies back-row George Smith and Leroy Houston, who made his Test debut for the Wallabies against Argentina at Twickenham last weekend, are also amongst the other loose forwards in the 38-man squad.

New head coach Nick Stiles said: "We have managed to retain the best young talent in Queensland, while also recruiting some of the most experienced players in Australian Rugby. It's an exciting squad with experienced, hardened forwards and skillful backs as well as strong ball runners."

Reds 2017 Super Rugby squad:

Quade Cooper, Kane Douglas, Sef Fa’agase Chris Feauai-Sautia, Nick Frisby, Michael Gunn, Reece Hewat, Scott Higginbotham, Leroy Houston, Karmichael Hunt, Samu Kerevi, Adam Korczyk, Chris Kuridrani, Alex Mafi, Campbell Magnay, Lachlan Maranta, Jake McIntyre, Stephen Moore, Eto Nabuli, Cadeyrn Neville, Jayden Ngamanau, Duncan Paia’aua, Pettowa Paraka, Izaia Perese, Andrew Ready, Izack Rodda, Rob Simons, James Slipper, George Smith, Moses Sorovi, Henry Taefu, Sam Talakai, Caleb Timu, Hendrik Tui, Lukhan Tui, Taniela Tupou, James Tuttle, Markus Vanzanti