Whiteley starts for Lions

The Lions have announced their side that will take on the Hurricanes in the Super Rugby final, with Warren Whiteley back at number eight.

Whiteley returns to the starting side while Ruan Ackermann and Lourens Erasmus have been included on the bench, together with Ross Cronjé, who takes the place of Dillon Smit as scrum-half cover for Faf de Klerk.

Otherwise it's an unchanged squad from the one that beat the Highlanders in last week's semi-final as the Lions look to win in Wellington.

The Lions have faced the Hurricanes once already this season, going down 50-17 in Johannesburg, but will arrive in the capital confident.

Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Courtnal Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf De Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Jaco Kriel (c), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Dylon Smith
Replacements: 16 Armand van der Merwe, 17 Corné Fourie, 18 Jacques van Rooyen, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Ruan Ackermann, 21 Ross Cronjé, 22 Howard Mnisi, 23 Jaco van der Walt

Date: Saturday, August 6
Venue: Westpac Stadium, Wellington
Kick-off: 19:35 local (07:35 GMT)
Referee: Glen Jackson (New Zealand)
Assistant Referees: Angus Gardner (Australia), Ben O’Keeffe (New Zealand)
TMO: Ben Skeen (New Zealand)