Lions make fifteen changes for Crusaders

The Lions have made a complete overhaul for their quarter-final with the Crusaders in Johannesburg on Saturday. 

Johan Ackermann has made fifteen changes to the dubbed 'B-team' that lost to the Jaguares last weekend. 

The forward pack gets their big names back with Warren Whiteley bracketed with Ruan Ackermann for the eight jersey. If Whiteley is cleared to play he will regain the captaincy as well. 

If Whiteley starts he will scrum down with Warwick Tecklenburg on the blind-side and Jaco Kriel at open-side flank. 

Springbok lock Franco Mostert and Andries Ferreira retake the four and five jerseys from Lourens Erasmus and Martin Muller with Erasmus bracketed with Ackermann for the bench spot.

The Lions' mainstay front-row is back with Julian Redelinghuys, Malcolm Marx and Dylon Smith coming back into the fold.

The back-line is back to it's best with Adries Coetzee, Ruan Combrinck and Courtnall Skosan making up the back three. 

The form centre pair of Lionel Mapoe and Rohan Janse Van Rensburg replaces Stokkies Hanekom and Howard Mnisi, with the latter proving centre cover from the bench. 

The Springbok pairing of Elton Jantjies and Faf De Klerk retake the midfield. 

Lions: 15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Rohan Janse Van Rensburg, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf De Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley (c)/Ruan Ackermann, 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Dylon Smith
Replacements: 16 Armand Van Der Merwe, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Jacques Van Rooyen, 19 Ruan Ackermann/Lourens Erasmus, 20 Cyle Brink, 21 Ross Cronje, 22 Howard Mnisi, 23 Jaco Van Der Walt/Sylvian Mahuza

Date: Saturday, July 23
Venue: Emirates Airlines Park, Johannesburg
Kick Off: 16:30 local (14:30 GMT)
Referee: Craig Joubert
Assistant Referees: Marius van der Westhuizen, Rasta Rasivhenge
TMO: Marius Jonker