SANZAAR clears Stormers quartet

The southern hemisphere's rugby governing body has cleared four Stormers players ahead of their clash against the Chiefs.

The Cape Town-based franchise wrote to the body to confirm the eligibility of full-back Jaco Taute‚ fly-half Rob du Preez‚ lock Jean Kleyn and centre Daniel du Plessis.

While they were all named in the initial Stormers squad before the start of the season, none of the four have featured in four group phase matches over the course of the season, as is the requirement for players to feature in the play-offs.

Nonetheless, Greg Thomas, the SANZAAR media and communications manager, cleared the four names to play for the remainder of the tournament.

However, utility back Scott van Breda and Chris van Zyl, who were not named in the initial squad but featured in the in the win over the Kings on Saturday, were not eligible. 

Similarly, the body denied the Chiefs the right to field All Black Liam Messam on Saturday against the Stormers, as he was not named in the initial squad in February and he has failed to play the minimum four games. 

The Stormers take on the Chiefs in the Super Rugby quarter-finals at Newlands on Saturday.