Cavendish wins again on stage 14

Mark Cavendish has won stage 14 of the Tour de France to Villars-les-Dombes Parc des Oiseaux, his fourth stage victory of this Tour and 30th of his career.

Cavendish took victory in the final straight ahead of Alexander Kristoff and Peter Sagan, while Marcel Kittel seemed less than happy after Cavendish appeared to slightly drift into his sprint line.

The British rider has already enjoyed victories in stages one, four and six in his best ever week as a Tour de France cyclist.

His latest success leaves him four stage victories behind Eddy Merckx on the all-time list of Tour stage winners and moved him above Bernard Hinault into second place.

German John Degenkolb finished ahead of Kittel, who was less than pleased with Cavendish at the finish line as he felt he had been cut up in the final few metres.

The race jury had a good look at the images before officially rewarding Dimension Data rider  with the stage victory.

Chris Froome didn't need to run up any hills today as the Team Sky cyclist finished safely in the pack to retain the yellow jersey.

Tour de France Stage 14 result:

1. Mark Cavendish (Dimension) 5hr 43min 49sec 

2. Alexander Kristoff (Katusha) ST 

3. Peter Sagan (Tinkoff) 

4. John Degenkolb (Giant) 

5. Marcel Kittel (Etixx-Quick-Step) 

6. Andre Greipel (Lotto) 

7. Bryan Coquard (Direct Energie) 

8. Davide Cimolai (Lampre) 

9. Christophe Laporte (Cofidis) 

10. Samuel Dumoulin (AG2R) 

General Classification after Stage 14:

1. Chris Froome (Team Sky) 63:46:40” 

2. Bauke Mollema (Trek) +1:47” 

3. Adam Yates (Orica) 2:45” 

4. Nairo Quintana (Movistar) 2:59” 

5. Alejandro Valverde (Movistar) 3:17” 

6. Tejay van Garderen (BMC Racing) 3:19” 

7. Romain Bardet (AG2R) 4:04” 

8. Richie Porte (BMC Racing) 4:27” 

9. Daniel Martin (Etixx-Quick-Step) 5:03” 

10. Fabio Aru (Astana) 5:16”