Dumoulin wins TdF 13th stage

Dutch rider Tom Dumoulin won the individual time-trial at the 13th stage of the Tour de France while Chris Froome increased his lead in the yellow jersey competition as he chases a third title.

This was Dumoulin's second stage win, coming home in 50min 15sec and followed by Froome 1:03" behind in second place on the 37.5km stage from Bourg Saint Andeol to La Caverne du Pont d'Arc.

The result means that Froome leads second-placed Bauke Mollema of the Netherlands by 1min 46sec in the overall classification with Adam Yates, who finished in 18th place on Friday, third overall. 

Froome’s biggest overall challenger Nairo Quintana of Colombia had a disappointing day to trail Team Sky rider Froome by 2min 59sec.

Before and after today's time-trial the riders had a minute's silence for those killed in the Nice tragedy.

When asked how he felt after his victory, Dumoulin said: “Happy and sad. This morning I woke with terrible news from Nice. It was a big question if it would continue today or not. 

"I think it is good we ask ourselves the question, and I think the decision is good. These terrorists cannot decide our lives.”
Froome said after the day's racing that their thoughts were with the people of Nice.

“I think it’s an important message, definitely a time for people to stand together. I was happy with how today went but really everyone’s thoughts here are with the people of Nice,” he said.

Next, the race will move next move to the Alps with Saturday's 208,5km Montélimar/Villars-les-Dombes Parc des Oiseaux 14th stage.
Stage 13 results:

1. Tom Dumoulin (Netherlands/Giant) 50:15"
2. Chris Froome (Britain/Team Sky) 1:03"
3. Nelson Oliveira (Portugal/Movistar) 1:31"
4. Jerome Coppel (France/IAM Cycling) 1:35"
5. Rohan Dennis (Australia/BMC Racing) 1:41"
6. Bauke Mollema (Netherlands/Trek) 1:54"
7. Geraint Thomas (Britain/Team Sky) 2:00"
8. Jon Izagirre (Spain/Movistar) 2:02"
9. Tony Martin (Germany/Etixx – Quick-Step) 2:05"
10. Steve Cummings (Britain/Dimension Data) 2:24"
11. Jan Barta (Czech Republic/BORA) 2:31"
12. Maciej Bodnar (Poland/Tinkoff) 2:32"
13. Edvald Boasson Hagen (Norway/Dimension Data) 2:34"
14. Stef Clement (Netherlands/IAM Cycling) 2:38"
15. Alejandro Valverde (Spain/Movistar) 2:48"
16. Tejay van Garderen (US/BMC Racing) 2:50"
17. Luke Durbridge (Australia/Orica) 3:01"
18. Adam Yates (Britain/Orica)
19. Ilnur Zakarin (Russia/Katusha) 3:07"
20. Nairo Quintana (Colombia/Movistar) 3:08"
21. Richie Porte (Australia/BMC Racing)
22. Roman Kreuziger (Czech Republic/Tinkoff) 3:13"
23. Fabian Cancellara (Switzerland/Trek) 3:15"
24. Anthony Roux (France/FDJ) 3:23"
25. Vincenzo Nibali (Italy/Astana) 3:29"
26. Ruben Plaza (Spain/Orica) 3:35"
27. Alexey Lutsenko (Kazakhstan/Astana) 3:41"
28. Romain Sicard (France/Direct Energie) 3:48"
29. Sylvain Chavanel (France/Direct Energie) 3:52"
30. Romain Bardet (France/AG2R)

Overall Tour de France Classification:

1. Chris Froome (Britain/Team Sky) 58:02:51"
2. Bauke Mollema (Netherlands/Trek) 1:47"
3. Adam Yates (Britain/Orica) 2:45"
4. Nairo Quintana (Colombia/Movistar) 2:59"
5. Alejandro Valverde (Spain/Movistar) 3:17"
6. Tejay van Garderen (US/BMC Racing) 3:19"
7. Romain Bardet (France/AG2R) 4:04"
8. Richie Porte (Australia/BMC Racing) 4:27"
9. Daniel Martin (Ireland/Etixx – Quick-Step) 5:03"
10. Fabio Aru (Italy/Astana) 5:16"
11. Roman Kreuziger (Czech Republic/Tinkoff) 5:24"
12. Louis Meintjes (South Africa/Lampre) 5:48"
13. Joaquim Rodriguez (Spain/Katusha) 5:54"
14. Sergio Henao (Colombia/Team Sky) 6:25"
15. Geraint Thomas (Britain/Team Sky) 6:48"
16. Warren Barguil (France/Giant) 8:23"
17. Sebastien Reichenbach (Switzerland/FDJ) 11:41"
18. Pierre Rolland (France/Cannondale) 12:28"
19. Damiano Caruso (Italy/BMC Racing) 15:40"
20. Emanuel Buchmann (Germany/BORA) 19:02"
21. Mikel Nieve (Spain/Team Sky) 20:00"
22. Fraenk Schleck (Luxembourg/Trek) 27:52"
23. Tanel Kangert (Estonia/Astana) 27:55"
24. Wilco Kelderman (Netherlands/LottoNL) 30:08"
25. Alexis Vuillermoz (France/AG2R) 30:49"
26. Haimar Zubeldia (Spain/Trek) 32:39"
27. Stef Clement (Netherlands/IAM Cycling) 34:49"
28. Daniel Navarro (Spain/Cofidis) 36:05"
29. Mikel Landa (Spain/Team Sky) 43:15"
30. Jarlinson Pantano (Colombia/IAM Cycling) 44:04"