Pyrgos to captain Scotland in second Test

Scotland head coach Vern Cotter has made seven changes including a positional shift to his side that will face Japan in the second Test in Tokyo on Saturday.

Cotter has remained true to his word that he will give as many players in his touring squad the opportunity to represent the country.

A new-look midfield sees Matt Scott and Peter Horne take over from Duncan Taylor and Matt Scott with the latter pairing missing out on the matchday squad completely. Stuart Hogg, Tommy Seymour and Sean Maitland are retained as the back three combination.

Glasgow Warriors scrum-half Henry Pygros gets named ahead of regular captain Greg Laidlaw in the scrum-half position. 

The 26-year-old number nine also takes over the kicking duties as well as the captain's armband from Laidlaw.

Ryan Wilson partners with flankers John Barclay and Josh Strauss in the back row which sees John Hardie miss out on a starting XV spot as the latter is named on the bench. Barclay also shifts from the blindside to openside position.

Brothers, Richie and Jonny, continue in their lock partnership and in the front row Moray Low and Rory Sutherland packs down on either side of hooker Staurt McInally.

Gordon Reid, who was called up into the squad as recent as this week, is named amongst the reserves and will provide cover for injured Alasdair Dickinson.

Stormers back, Huw Jones is set to make his international Test debut if he comes off the bench.

Scotland: 15 Stuart Hogg, 14 Tommy Seymour, 13 Matt Scott, 12 Peter Horne, 11 Sean Maitland, 10 Ruaridh Jackson, 9 Henry Pyrgos (c), 8 Ryan Wilson, 7 John Barclay, 6 Josh Strauss, 5 Jonny Gray, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Moray Low, 2 Stuart McInally, 1 Rory Sutherland
Replacements: 16 Fraser Brown, 17 Gordon Reid, 18 Willem Nel, 19 Tim Swinson, 20 John Hardie, 21 Greig Laidlaw, 22 Huw Jones, 23 Sean Lamont

Date: Saturday, June 25
Venue: Ajinomoto Stadium, Tokyo
Kick-off: 19:20 local (10:20 GMT)
Referee: Marius Mitrea (Italy)
Assistant Referees: Ben O'Keeffe (New Zealand), Brendan Pickerill (New Zealand)
TMO: Ian Smith (Australia)