Canada change one for Russia

Canada head coach Mark Anscombe has made one change to his starting XV for Saturday’s test match against Russia at Calgary Rugby Park.

Calgary-born Mozac Samson will start at outside centre in place of an injured Brock Staller as Jamie Cudmore will once again captain the side that was narrowly beaten 26-22 by Japan in Vancouver last Saturday.

Ray Barkwill and Jake Ilnicki join Djustice Sears-Duru in the front row while Evan Olmstead lines up next to Cudmore at lock.

Flankers Kyle Baillie and Lucas Rumball team up with number eight Aaron Carpenter to form the back row.

Gordon McRorie teams up with Pat Parfrey in the half-back pairing again. Taylor Paris is named on the left wing with Dan Moor slotting in at right wing. 

It’ll be a Calgary duo in the centres as Nick Blevins pairs with Samson while Matt Evans starts at full-back.

There are three changes to Canada’s bench however as Jordan Wilson-Ross, Cam Pierce and Liam Underwood, who has been given the green light by Canada’s sevens head coach Liam Middleton to join the senior team, are named as replacements.

Underwood last featured for Canada at the 2015 World Cup but an injury against Ireland in Canada’s opening match forced him to miss the remainder of the tournament.

Canada has a perfect 3-0 record against Russia with their last meeting coming in 2012 when Canada cruised to a 35-3 victory in Wales as part of their November tour, a match where Okotoks, AB., native Jeff Hassler had a pair of tries.

Canada: 15 Matt Evans, 14 Dan Moor, 13 Mozac Samson, 12 Nick Blevins, 11 Taylor Paris, 10 Pat Parfrey, 9 Gordon McRorie, 8 Aaron Carpenter, 7 Lucas Rumball, 6 Kyle Baillie, 5 Evan Olmstead, 4 Jamie Cudmore (c), 3 Jake Ilnicki, 2 Ray Barkwill, 1 Djustice Sears-Duru
Replacements: 16 Eric Howard, 17 Tom Dolezel, 18 Matt Tierney, 19 Cam Pierce, 20 Alistair Clark, 21 Jamie Mackenzie, 22 Liam Underwood, 23 Jordan Wilson-Ross

Date: Saturday, June 18
Venue: Calgary Rugby Park, Calgary
Kick-off: 15:00 local (21:00 GMT)
Referee: Shuhei Kubo (Japan)
Assistant Referees: Federico Anselmi (Argentina), Kurt Weaver (USA)