England Saxons announce squad

The England Saxons squad to tour South Africa in June has been announced and England internationals Kieran Brookes, Dave Attwood, Matt Kvesic, Danny Cipriani, Christian Wade, Semesa Rokoduguni and Luther Burrell bring 69 senior caps to the squad and many of the remaining 20 have represented England in age-grade teams in recent years.

The 27-man squad to play two tests against South Africa 'A', will be coached by Exeter Chiefs assistant coach Ali Hepher, assisted by Alan Dickens (Northampton Saints) and Andy Titterrell (Wasps).

The squad, compromised of experienced names and emerging talent, will play South Africa’s second team in Bloemfontein on Friday June 10 and Outeniqua Park in George on Friday, June 17.

Attwood, Kvesic, Burrell, Tommy Taylor and Oliver Devoto were named yesterday in Eddie Jones’ wider squad to play Wales for the Wealth Cup at Twickenham on Sunday, May 29.

Saxons head coach Ali Hepher said: “Eddie Jones has given us a strong development squad to take on a South Africa 'A' side.

"The squad has a good mixture of experienced players and emerging talent.

“Playing South Africa twice in South Africa is going to be a great challenge and a significant test for us but it is also an incredibly exciting opportunity for the players and management to prove themselves.

“The series will give the players international experience and will be an important stepping stone towards international honours.

“As coaches, this is an exciting opportunity for us too, not only to coach this group of highly-talented players but also for us to gain some international rugby experience.”

The England Saxons squad to tour South Africa in June: 

Forwards: Ross Harrison (Sale Sharks), Alec Hepburn (Exeter Chiefs), Tommy Taylor (Wasps), George McGuigan (Newcastle Falcons), Jake Cooper-Woolley (Wasps), Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints), James Craig (Northampton Saints), Mitch Lees (Exeter Chiefs), Charlie Ewels (Bath), Dave Attwood (Bath), Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs), Donovan Armand (Exeter Chiefs), Matthew Kvesic (Gloucester), James Chisholm (Harlequins), Sam Jones (Wasps)

Backs: Dan Robson (Wasps), Michael Young (Newcastle Falcons), Oliver Devoto (Bath), Danny Cipriani (Wasps), Christian Wade (Wasps), Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath), Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs), Nick Tompkins (Saracens), Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints), Alex Lewington (London Irish), Sam James (Sale Sharks), Mike Haley (Sale Sharks)

Management Team

Head Coach – Ali Hepher (Exeter Chiefs), Assistant Coach – Andy Titterrell (Wasps), Assistant Coach – Alan Dickens (Northampton Saints), Team Manager – Richard Hill