Stander claims award double

Munster and Ireland's CJ Stander has been voted the IRUPA Players' Player of the Year by his fellow peers at the annual awards ceremony.

Stander had a superb season for Ireland, making his debut in the opening Six Nations game against Wales where he was named man-of-the-match.

The back-rower and Munster captain continued this rich vein of form for the remainder of the campaign, scoring his first Test try against Italy. His powerful performances did no go unnoticed by supporters either as he was also voted the Supporters' Player of the Year.

"I'm delighted to win this award. Receiving recognition from my fellow peers is the ultimate accolade. I will remember this season fondly, from winning my first cap, to scoring my first international try and ultimately winning this award," Stander told Irish Rugby's website.

Josh van der Flier was named the Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year after impressing all season for Leinster and excelling in his first outing for Ireland against England in the Six Nations.

Joining Ireland's heroes in the IRUPA Hall of Fame was former Munster and Ireland fly-half Ronan O'Gara. Leinster's Isaac Boss was awarded the Medal for Excellence, which rewards on field effort combined with off field commitment to the game.

Zurich IRUPA Players' Player of the Year
Winner: CJ Stander (Munster)
Nominations – Robbie Henshaw (Connacht), CJ Stander (Munster), Jack McGrath (Leinster), Rory Best (Ulster)

Nevin Spence Young Player of the Year
Winner: Josh van der Flier (Leinster)
Nominations – Josh van der Flier (Leinster), Stuart McCloskey (Ulster), Garry Ringrose (Leinster)

Volkswagen Try of the Year
Winner: Jamie Heaslip (Ireland v Italy, RBS 6 Nations)
Nominations – Craig Gilroy (Ulster v Scarlets, Guinness PRO12), Jamie Heaslip (Ireland v Italy, RBS 6 Nations), Matt Healy (Connacht v Grenoble, European Challenge Cup)

Vodafone Medal for Excellence
Winner: Isaac Boss (Leinster)
Nominations – Isaac Boss (Leinster), Ronan Loughney (Connacht), John Muldoon (Connacht)

BNY Mellon IRUPA Hall of Fame
Inducted: Ronan O'Gara (Munster)

Irish Times Supporters' Player of the Year
Winner: CJ Stander (Munster)

Powerscourt Hotel Resort and Spa Moment of the Year
Winner: Connacht's victory over Munster at Thomond Park

BNY Mellon Women's Fifteens Player of the Year
Winner: Sene Naoupu

Women's Sevens Player of the Year
Winner: Amee-Leigh Crowe

Zurich Contribution to Irish Society
Winner: Niall Breslin