Lions change three for ‘Canes

The Lions have made three changes to their starting lineup that will face the Hurricanes at Emirates Airlines Park on Saturday.

Head coach Johan Ackermann has been forced to name a second new-look prop duo in as many weeks after Ruan Dreyer sustained a wrist injury against the Kings last week.

Prop Corne Fourie rotates Dylan Smith, with the former being named amongst the reserves and Currie Cup front-rower Pieter Scholtz gets his first start of the season, Scholtz will pack down in the front row alongside Smith and the exciting Armand van der Merwe at hooker.

Blindside flank Cyle Brink drops to the bench and is replaced by Jaco Kriel, who pairs up with captain Warren Whiteley and Warwick Tecklenburg to form the loose forward trio. 

The backline remains unchanged from last week's 45-10 thumping of the Port Elizabeth side.

Lions: 15 Jaco van der Walt, 14 Ruan Combrinck, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Howard Mnisi, 11 Courtnall Skosan, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Faf de Klerk, 8 Warren Whiteley (c), 7 Warwick Tecklenburg, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Pieter Scholtz, 2 Armand van der Merwe, 1 Dylan Smith
Replacements: 16 Ramone Samuels, 17 Corne Fourie, 18 Jacques van Rooyen, 19 Ruan Ackermann, 20 Cyle Brink, 21 Ross Cronje, 22 JW Bell, 23 Rohan Janse van Rensburg

Date: Saturday, April 30
Venue: Emirates Airlines Park, Johannesburg
Kick-off: 17:05 local (15:05 GMT)
Referee: Marius van der Westhuizen
Assistant Referees: Jaco Peyper, Ben Crouse
TMO: Johan Greef