Foley returns for Waratahs

Waratahs head coach Daryl Gibson has named his side for this Sunday’s Round five Super Rugby match against the Reds in Brisbane.

Bernard Foley returns to the starting fold in the number ten jersey ready to make his first appearance since the Rugby World Cup last year after injuring his shoulder in the 2016 Super Rugby pre-season trials.

Foley will once again link up with his Waratahs and Wallabies teammate Kurtley Beale who shifts to inside centre, with Reece Robinson named for his starting debut on the right wing.  

Three changes have also been made to the forwards with club captain Dave Dennis moving from flanker to lock, making way for hard-hitting local young gun, Jack Dempsey who is also set to make his run-on debut.

Jed Holloway has been recalled to the starting lineup in the number eight jersey after becoming the highest try-scoring reserve ever in a match for NSW with a hat-trick against the Highlanders.

The Waratahs’ highest capped player, Benn Robinson is back as a reinforcement on the bench after suffering a broken nose in round one. Robinson joins Wycliff Palu, Matt Carraro and David Horwitz as the four changes to the reserves list.

Waratahs: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Reece Robinson, 13 Rob Horne, 12 Kurtley Beale, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Bernard Foley, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Jed Holloway, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Jack Dempsey, 5 David Dennis (vc), 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Tolu Latu, 1 Paddy Ryan
16 Hugh Roach, 17 Benn Robinson, 18 Tom Robertson, 19 Sam Lousi, 20 Wycliff Palu, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 David Horwitz, 23 Matt Carraro

Date: Sunday, March 27
Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Kick-off: 15:05 local (05:05 GMT)
Referee: Ben O'Keeffe
Assistant Referees: Graham Cooper, Damien Mitchelmore
TMO: George Ayoub