Brumbies unchanged for Stormers clash

Brumbies head coach Stephen Larkham has named an unchanged side to face the Stormers at Newlands on Saturday.

Scott Sio, Stephen Moore and Ben Alexander will pack down in the Brumbies front row hoping to continue their strong form from the opening three rounds. 

Moore has scored two tries and currently leads the competition in successful line-out throws with 35 successful throws from 38 attempts.

Packing in as locks will be Rory Arnold and Sam Carter. They will be looking to stop the Stormers' dangerous Eben Etzebeth who has won 23 lineouts this year, including six steals (best in Super Rugby).

In the back row will be Scott Fardy, David Pocock and Jarrad Butler. Pocock re-signed with the Brumbies this week on a new deal which will keep him with the club until at least the end of 2019.

The Brumbies backline remains unchanged for a fourth straight week. Tomas Cubelli will start at scrum-half, while co-captain Christian Lealiifano will start at fly-half. 

Lealiifano is currently second on the competition’s point-scoring list with 43.

Matt Toomua and Tevita Kuridrani will start in midfield and Aidan Toua at full-back while Henry Speight and Joe Tomane remain on the wing. Tomane currently leads Super Rugby in clean breaks with nine.

In an unchanged reserves list, Josh Mann-Rea, Allan Alaalatoa and Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin will be looking to make an impact while Tom Staniforth stays in the side following a strong performance last week against the Force. Jordan Smiler, Michael Dowsett, Robbie Coleman and Nigel Ah Wong have also been named in the matchday 23.

The Brumbies defeated the Western Force 31-14 in Perth last Friday night before travelling to Cape Town ahead of this weekend’s match.

Brumbies: 15 Aidan Toua, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Matt Toomua, 11 Joe Tomane, 10 Christian Lealiifano (cc), 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Jarrad Butler, 7 David Pocock, 6 Scott Fardy, 5 Sam Carter, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore (cc), 1 Scott Sio
Replacements: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 Allan Alaalatoa, 18 Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin, 19 Tom Staniforth, 20 Jordan Smile, 21 Michael Dowsett, 22 Robbie Coleman, 23 Nigel Ah Wong

Date: Saturday, March 19
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-off: 19:15 local ( 17:15 GMT)
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant Referees: Jaco van Heerden, Cwengile Jadezweni
TMO: Marius Jonker