Ducks set record; Lightning strike again

The Anaheim Ducks set a franchise record of 11 straight NHL wins and went top of the Pacific Division with victory against the Los Angeles Kings.

Ryan Kesler, David Perron and Jakob Silfverberg all scored as the Ducks recorded a 3-2 win that saw them leapfrog their Californian rivals in the standings.

In late January, Anaheim trailed the Kings by 16 points but have since won 18 of 20 games, the latest of which ensured coach Bruce Boudreau became the youngest coach to reach 400 NHL victories.

The Tampa Bay Lightning also set a franchise record as Alex Killorn’s overtime winner saw off the Carolina Hurricanes 4-3 for a ninth straight success.

Ondrej Palat scored twice, either side of Victor Rask’s goal, as Tampa led 2-1 going into the third.

The Hurricanes turned the contest on its head through Jordan Staal and Jeff Skinner but Tyler Johnson’s goal sent the game into an extra period, where Killorn struck with 43 seconds left.

The Washington Capitals became the first team to reach 100 points as they bounced back from Friday’s loss to the New York Rangers by seeing off the Boston Bruins 2-1 after overtime.

The Calgary Flames snapped a seven-match losing streak by beating the Pittsburgh Penguins 4-2.

Sidney Crosby scored twice for the Penguins, but goals from Joe Colborne, Mark Giordano, Mikael Backlund and Lance Bouma recorded Calgary’s first win in Pittsburgh since 2005.

Elsewhere, the Philadelphia Flyers thrashed the Columbus Blue Jackets 6-0, the Nashville Predators beat the Colorado Avalanche 5-2 and the Minnesota Wild won a shootout for the first time this season to see off the Buffalo Sabres 3-2.

Zack Smith scored with 2:15 left as the Ottawa Senators beat the Toronto Maple Leafs 3-2 while Mark Scheifele scored a hat-trick in the Winnipeg Jets’ 4-2 win against the Montreal Canadiens.

Alex Tanguay scored twice on his debut as the Arizona Coyotes ended a seven-game slide, beating the Florida Panthers 5-1, while the Vancouver Canucks recorded a 4-2 win against the San Jose Sharks.