Ulster thrash Zebre

A brace of tries from eighth-man Nick Williams helped Ulster to an emphatic 32-0 bonus point victory at Ravenhill against Zebre in the PRO12 on Friday.

It wasn't a faultless performance as Ulster were unable to convert all of their chances for a greater half-time lead in pursuit of a bonus-point. 

The second half was a far quieter affair with Ulster having secured victory with their first-half dominance.

Peter Browne and Paul Marshall added tries for the hosts to secure a winning bonus point and a comprehensive 32-0 win. 

The bonus-point win sees the Ulster-men go eight points clear of the fifth placed Edinburgh, cementing their play-off place for now. 

Zebre remain in eleventh place, three points clear of Italian rivals Treviso. 

Paddy Jackson got Ulster on the board in the fifth minute, scoring a well struck penalty from 40 metres out. 

The hosts' went further ahead in the eleventh minute, eighth-man Nick Williams peeling off the back of a driving maul to cross the whitewash. 

Jackson, successful from the tee extened the lead by 13-points. 

Williams scored his second try on the half-hour mark, breaking away from a scrum.

Jackson made no mistake, cementing a 20-0 half-time score. 

It wasn't until the 63rd minute that the hosts added their third try, Browne going over. 

Jackson was unsuccessful with the conversion. 

The hosts scored an all-important bonus point try in the 78th minute, Paul Marshall rounding off and dotting down next to the uprights.

Jackson adding the extras to secure a 32-0 victory.

The scorers:

For Ulster:
Tries: Williams 2, Browne, Paul Marshall
Cons: Jackson 3
Pens: Jackson 2

For Zebre: 

Ulster: 15 Craig Gilroy, 14 Rory Scholes, 13 Luke Marshall, 12 Stuart Olding, 11 Jacob Stockdale, 10 Paddy Jackson, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Nick Williams, 7 Chris Henry, 6 Robbie Diack, 5 Franco van der Merwe, 4 Pete Browne, 3 Ricky Lutton, 2 Rob Herring (c), 1 Kyle McCall 

Replacements: 16 John Andrew, 17 Callum Black, 18 Andrew Warwick, 19 Roger Wilson, 20 Sean Reidy, 21 Paul Marshall, 22 Sam Windsor, 23 Darren Cave

Zebre: 15 Mils Muliaina, 14 Giulio Toniolatti, 13 Giulio Bisegni, 12 Tommaso Castello, 11 Kayle Van Zyl, 10 Edoardo Padovani, 9 Fabio Semenzato, 8 Federico Ruzza, 7 Johan Meyer, 6 Emiliano Caffini, 5 Marco Bortolami (c), 4 Quintin Geldenhuys, 3 Dario Chistolini, 2 Oliviero Fabiani, 1 Andrea De Marchi
Replacements: 16 Emiliano Coria, 17 Guillermo Roan, 18 Pietro Ceccarelli, 19 Gideon Koegelenberg, 20 Filippo Cristiano, 21 Luke Burgess, 22 Ian McKinley, 23 Ulrich Beyers

Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Paul Haycock (Ireland), Kevin Beggs (Ireland)
TMO: Kevin Beggs (IRFU)