England return for Tuilagi, Ewers

Leicester Tigers centre Manu Tuilagi and Exeter Chiefs back-row Dave Ewers have returned to the England training squad as preparations get underway for the Six Nations clash with Wales on March 12.

Both players were initially named in the Elite Playing Squad but will join up with Eddie Jones’ squad for the first time after recovering from injuries.

Tuilagi played 80 minutes for Leicester in a 47-20 victory over London Irish at the weekend while Ewers completed an hour for Exeter in a 26-17 win over Bath after 12 games out with a knee injury.

Luther Burrell (Northampton Saints) misses out, having replaced the concussed Ollie Devoto (Bath) last week.

Devoto is still unavailable to return as is Josh Beaumont (Sale Sharks) who is out with a shoulder injury.

Last week, England head coach Jones said he feels Tuilagi’s best position will be at inside centre and compared his physicality to that of All Blacks star Ma’a Nonu.

“He has to keep working on his fitness and he is going to be a valuable player for England. I think 12 is his best position, he can carry the ball off the gain line, he’s got the ability to catch and pass,” Jones said.

“He’s got all the attributes to be an outstanding 12. If you look at it on pure athleticism Manu is not far behind Nonu at all.

“He starts from a good situation and it depends how hard he works on his game and how desperate he is to play for England.”

England will train at the University of Bath this week as they look to build on an impressive start to the Six Nations with victories over Scotland, Italy and Ireland.


Kieran Brookes (Northampton Saints), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Luke Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Jack Clifford (Harlequins), Dave Ewers (Exeter Chiefs), Jamie George (Saracens), Dylan Hartley (Northampton Saints), James Haskell (Wasps), Paul Hill (Northampton Saints), Maro Itoje (Saracens), George Kruis (Saracens), Matt Kvesic (Gloucester), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Courtney Lawes (Northampton Saints), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Matt Mullan (Wasps), Chris Robshaw (Harlequins), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens)


Mike Brown (Harlequins), Danny Care (Harlequins), Elliot Daly (Wasps), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Bath), Alex Goode (Saracens), Sam Hill (Exeter Chiefs), Jonathan Joseph (Bath), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Semesa Rokoduguni (Bath), Manu Tuilagi (Leicester Tigers), Anthony Watson (Bath), Marland Yarde (Harlequins), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)