Waratahs secure bonus point start

The Waratahs dispatched the Reds for an opening win in 2016 in Super Rugby without ever hitting top gear, winning 30-10 in Sydney.

Tries from Michael Hooper, Matt Carraro, David Horwitz and Nick Phipps put the Waratahs in position for a bonus point win, but they had to dig deep to hold out a long attack from the Reds towards the end of the second half, eventually outscoring their opponents by four tries to one – a moment of vindication for the new bonus point system given the contest remained interesting until the end.

The Reds have been clearly weakened by a number of high-profile departures during the off-season and this first hit-out looked like a search for identity, with Jake McIntyre the new man at fly-half clearly in need of more time.

One bonus for the Reds was the debut of Ayumu Goromaru, the Japan World Cup star, who entered the fray midway through the first half and finished with a conversion and penalty to his name.

A fast start for the Waratahs yielded a penalty for Kurtley Beale, in at fly-half for the injured Bernard Foley, and that score was soon followed by a thundering maul to get captain Michael Hooper over the line for the first try.

Hooper, in excellent form carrying on from last year, was followed over ten minutes later by Matt Carraro.

After a small resurgence from the Reds despite a yellow card for their captain Rob Simmons following multiple offences, Carraro mopped up a loose ball after neither Zac Guildford or Chris Feauai-Sautia were able to ground it chasing a kick.

Two tries were then three as Horwitz capped his debut with a try, regathering his own kick after putting boot to ball rather than trying to grab a poor pass, with Beale's second conversion making it 20-0.

Neither side added to the scoreboard prior to half-time, but the Waratahs were in a commanding position.

Something had to give for the Reds after the interval and they started brightly enough with a penalty from Goromaru, to cheers from the Japanese supporters in the Allianz Stadium crowd.

The hosts were unable to recapture their momentum from the first 40 minutes, Goromaru missing a second penalty attempt which could have made matters worse for the 'Tahs.

Following sustained pressure the Reds grabbed their first try. Multiple scrums sucked in the Waratahs pack before the ball went wide and the fly-half's straight line sliced open the drifting defence. 

Goromaru's conversion brought the contest back to life at 20-10, but the Waratahs' response was instant.

Carraro's break from deep set up Beale to chip ahead, with Phipps showing remarkable pace to burn Hendrik Tui and win the race to the ball for try number four.

Sam Talakai's yellow card allowed Waratahs replacement number ten Bryce Hegarty to land a penalty with ten minutes to go making it 30-10, before the Reds looked to try and deprive their hosts of a try bonus point with that late assault on their line.

Despite a yellow card for prop Jeremy Tilse after more frustrations with the scrum from referee Angus Gardner there was no way through for the Reds, with the Waratahs getting that perfect start.

The scorers:

For Waratahs:
Tries: Hooper, Carraro, Horwitz, Phipps
Cons: Beale 2
Pens: Beale, Hegarty
Yellow Card: Tilse

For Reds:
Tries: McIntyre
Cons: Goromaru
Pens: Goromaru
Yellow Cards: Simmons, Talakai

Waratahs: 15 Israel Folau, 14 Matt Carraro, 13 Rob Horne, 12 David Horwitz, 11 Zac Guildford, 10 Kurtley Beale, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Jed Holloway, 7 Michael Hooper (c), 6 David Dennis, 5 Will Skelton, 4 Dean Mumm, 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 1 Paddy Ryan
Replacements: 16 Tolu Latu, 17 Benn Robinson, 18 Jeremy Tilse, 19 Sam Lousi, 20 Jack Dempsey, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Bryce Hegarty, 23 Reece Robinson

Reds: 15 Karmichael Hunt, 14 Chris Feauai-Sautia, 13 Samu Kerevi, 12 Henry Taefu, 11 Eto Nabuli, 10 Jake McIntyre, 9 Nick Frisby, 8 Jake Schatz, 7 Curtis Browning, 6 Hendrik Tui, 5 Rob Simmons(c), 4 Cadeyrn Neville, 3 Greg Holmes, 2 Saia Fainga’a, 1 Ben Daley
Replacements: 16 Andrew Ready, 17 Sef Fa’agase, 18 Sam Talakai, 19 Ben Matwijow, 20 Michael Gunn, 21 Scott Gale, 22 Sam Greene, 23 Ayumu Goromaru

Referee: Angus Gardner (Australia)
Assistant Referees: Nicholas Berry (Australia), James Leckie (Australia)
TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)