Jaguares lock Lavanini cited

Jaguares lock Tomas Lavanini has been cited for alleged foul play during his side's win over the Cheetahs in Bloemfontein on Friday.

Lavanini is alleged to have contravened 10.4 (a) Punching or striking, when he made contact with Cheetahs centre William Small-Smith in an incident that occurred in the 25th minute of the match.

The referee for the match, Stuart Berry, reviewed the incident with the Television Match Official and awarded a penalty at the restart after the try which was scored immediately prior to the incident. 

Upon further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the red card threshold for foul play.

The citing is to be considered in the first instance by SANZAAR Duty Judicial Officer Nigel Hampton QC.

All SANZAAR disciplinary matters are in the first instance referred to a Duty Judicial Officer hearing to provide the option of expediting the judicial process.

For a matter to be dispensed with at this hearing, the person appearing must plead guilty and accept the penalty offered by the DJO.