Sharks hand debut to Le Roux

Tendai ‘Beast’ Mtawarira will lead the Sharks in their opening game of the 2016 Super Rugby season against the Kings at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Saturday.

Mtawarira captains the side in the absence of the injured Pat Lambie, whose place at fly-half is taken by Joe Pietersen.

Gary Gold has selected big-name signings Coenie Oosthuizen (tighthead) and Willie Le Roux (full-back), with both providing plenty of experience.

Lock Hyron Andrews is a new face in the second row as he partners Etienne Oosthuizen.

Twins Daniel and Jean-Luc du Preez both start in the back row while Andre Esterhuizen and Paul Jordaan partner up in midfield. Le Roux completes a back three which includes Springbok wingers Lwazi Mvovo and Odwa Ndungane.

Sharks: 15 Willie Le Roux, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13  Paul Jordaan, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Joe Pietersen, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Tendai Mtawarira (c)
Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Dave McDuling, 20 Philip van der Walt, 21 Michael Claassens, 22 Garth April, 23 S’bura Sithole

Date: Saturday, February 27
Venue: Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, Port Elizabeth
Kick-off: 15:00 local (13:00 GMT)
Referee: Jaco van Heerden (South Africa)
Assistant Referees: Rodney Bonaparte (South Africa), AJ Jacobs (South Africa)
TMO: Marius Jonker (South Africa)