Sangakkara handed ICC fine

The International Cricket Council (ICC) imposed the penalty after deciding Sangakkara was “showing dissent at an umpire’s decision”.

The disagreement came at the start of 34th over when the 37-year-old disputed umpire Bruce Oxenford’s decision not to allow a batting power play.

A further exchange came two balls later and Sangakkara has subsequently been reprimanded by the ICC.

Sangakkara scored a run-a-ball 112 in the match as Sri Lanka secured an unassailable 4-2 lead in the seven-match ODI series.

Comments