Federer set to make return in Asia

Roger Federer will make his return from injury in Asia after confirming his participation in the International Premier Tennis League (IPTL).

The IPTL is the tennis equivalent of the Indian Premier League (IPL) cricket tournament, which has helped popularise the shorter form of cricket by employing a series of exciting innovations.

This year, the IPTL will take place in Japan, Singapore and Indonesia from December 2 – 11, and Federer has confirmed he will once again represent the Indian Aces.

The Swiss star has been sidelined with a knee injury since his defeat in the Wimbledon semi-finals back in July, having undergone surgery since.

Joining Federer in the Indian Aces are Feliciano Lopez and Eugenie Bouchard, while Serena Williams will represent the Singapore Slammers along with Nick Kyrgios

Japan’s Kei Nishikori is part of the Japan Warriors line-up.

Andy Murray, Novak Djokovic and Rafael are some notable absences.

Full IPTL Line-ups

Japan Warriors: Kei Nishikori, Fernando Verdasco, Kurumi Nara, Jelena Jankovic, Fernando Gonzalez, Marat Safin and Jean-Julien Rojer.

UAE Royals: Tomas Berdych, Pablo Cuevas, Ana Ivanovic, Martina Hingis, Goran Ivanisevic, Thomas Johansson and Daniel Nestor.

OUE Singapore Slammers: Serena Williams, Nick Kyrgios, Marcos Baghdatis, Kiki Bertens, Carlos Moya, Rainer Schuettler and Marcelo Melo.

Indian Aces: Roger Federer, Feliciano Lopez, Ivan Dodig, Eugenie Bouchard, Thomas Enqvist, Mark Philippoussis , Sania Mirza and Rohan Bopanna.