Roland Garros final key facts

Andy Murray and Novak Djokovic will contest the Roland Garros final on Sunday, here are some key facts about the encounter:

Should Djokovic win the final, he will become only the eighth man in history to complete a career Grand Slam after Andre Agassi, Don Budge, Roy Emerson, Roger Federer, Rod Laver, Rafael Nadal and Fred Perry. Only Budge and Laver having the calendar year Grand slam – Budge was the first man to achieve the feat in 1938 before Laver emulated him, once as an amateur in 1962 and then again as a professional in 1969, after the Grand Slam tournaments lifted their ban on professionals entering in 1968.

This will be the seventh time that Murray and Djokovic contest a Grand Slam final, with Djokovic winning four of the previous six meetings. The pair have met nine times in total in Grand Slam competition, with Djokovic claiming seven wins against Murray's two. The only player Djokovic has beaten more times at a Grand Slam than Murray is Federer, who has lost to the Serbian nine times at Grand Slams. Murray beat Djokovic the last time these two met on the  ATP Tour, winning 6-3, 6-3 at the ATP World Tour Masters 1000 in Rome.

The Roland Garros title is the only Grand Slam Djokovic has not won, he has a total of eleven Grand Slam titles, winning the Australian Open five times, Wimbledon four times and the US Open twice. Should the world number one defeat Murray he will become the first man in 24 years to win the first two Grand Slam tournaments in a calendar year.

World number two, Murray, beat Djokovic in the final of both of his previous two grand slam triumphs, the US Open in 2012 and Wimbledon in 2013. He became the first British man to win a grand slam title in the Open Era when he won at Flushing Meadows in 2012. The last British man to win a Grand Slam had been Donald Budge back in 1936. In 2013 Murray ended a 77-year wait for a British man to win Wimbledon when he beat Djokovic 6-4, 7-5 and 6-4 in the final.

Murray will be looking to become the first British winner of the Roland Garros title since Fred Perry won in 1935. Murray would be the first British man to win at Roland Garros in the Open Era. The second seed is only the third British player to play in the Roland Garros final after Perry and Bunny Austin, who lost to Henner Henkel in the 1937 final.