Sharks overpower poor Griquas

The Sharks completely overpowered a poor Griquas outfit in their Currie Cup clash as the Durban side ran out comfortable 45-20 winners at Griqua Park in Kimberley on Saturday.

The home side took the lead in the fifth minute when winger Ruhan Nel dotted down with the try converted by Clinton Swart to give the hosts a 7-0 lead.

That appeared to wake the Sharks up as first Joe Pietersen slotted a penalty before Cobus Reinach, Paul Jordaan, Francois Kleinhans and Andre Esterhuizen scored tries to put the Sharks 31-10 up at halftime.

The second half continued where the first stanza ended as reserve scrumhalf Micheal Claasens scored a try and Pietersen added the conversion to give the Sharks a healthy 38-10 lead.
The Sharks left wing S’bura Sithole put the result beyond doubt when went over for the visitors last try of the game in the 67th minute , Pietersen once again converted for a 45-10 lead to the men in black and white.

Even though the Sharks were reduced to 14 men when Jordaan received a yellow card, the result was a formality. Nel made sure the home team's supporters had something to smile about when he scored a consolation try in the last minute.

The scorers:

For Griquas:
Tries: Nel 2, Ngcobo
Cons: Swart
Pen: Swart

For the Sharks:
Tries: Reinach, Jordaan, Kleinhans, Esterhuizen, Claassens, Sithole
Cons: Pietersen 6
Pens: Pietersen

Griquas: 15 Ntabeni Dukisa, 14 Danie Dames, 13 Michael van der Spuy, 12 Clinton Swart, 11 Ruhan Nel, 10 Francois Brummer, 9 Tian Meyer (c), 8 Carel Greeff, 7 Jono Janse van Rensburg, 6 RJ Liebenberg, 5 Hugo Kloppers, 4 Jonathan Adendorf, 3 Stephan Kotze, 2 Martin Bezuidenhout, 1 Steph Roberts. 
Replacements: 16 Abraham le Roux, 17 Danie Mienie, 18 Leon Karemaker, 19 Wendal Wehr, 20 Dylon Frylinck, 21 Gouws Prinsloo, 22 Sandile Ngcobo.

Sharks: 15 Odwa Ndungane, 14 Wandile Mjekevu, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 S’bura Sithole, 10 Joe Pietersen, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Philip van der Walt, 7 Etienne Oosthuizen, 6 Francois Kleinhans, 5 Marco Wentzel (c), 4 Dave McDuling, 3 Gerhard Engelbrecht, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Thomas du Toit. 
Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Christiaan de Bruin, 19 Jean Deysel, 20 Michael Claassens, 21 Heimar Williams, 22 Garth April.

Date: Saturday, October 3
Venue: Griqua Park, Kimberley
Kick-off: 15.00 local (13.00 GMT)
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge 
Assistant Referees: Quinton Immelman, Pieter Janse van Vuuren