Redelinghuys to earn 50th cap

Johnny Redelinghuys will be the first Namibian player to earn 50 caps after being named to start against Georgia on Wednesday.

The loosehead prop comes into the side as one of six changes from the line-up that started against Tonga. Casper Viviers is replaced by Redelinghuys, PJ Van Lill comes into the second row in place of Jaco Venter and Tinus Du Plessis is handed the number seven shirt, with Rohan Kitshoff dropping to the bench.

Eugene Jantjies replaces Eneill Buitendag at scrum-half, Johan Deysel is dropped for Darryl de la Harpe in the centres, and David Philander comes in for try-scoring Johan Tromp on the wing. Tromp, who touched down against Tonga, is on the bench.

Jacques Burger, who scored twice against Tonga, will equal Hugo Horn’s record of 11 appearances for Namibia in RWCs.

Johnny Redelinghuys will win his 50th cap, the first Namibian player to do so in test match history.

Wian Conradie and Heinrich Smit will make their RWC debuts if used from the bench.

“Wian and Heinrich are both young players with huge potential and with our legacy programme in mind it was our plan from the outset to give all 31 players an opportunity. It’s about the here and the now, to perform well and look for that first win, but we also have an overflow plan building towards the next Rugby World Cup,” head coach Phil Davies said.

Namibia are still seeking their first-ever win at a Rugby World Cup, but face a tough task against a Georgian side that has already beaten Tonga in their opening fixture.

Namibia: 15 Chrysander Botha, 14 David Philander, 13 Danie Van Wyk, 12 Darryl de la Harpe, 11 Russel van Wyk, 10 Theuns Kotze, 9 Eugene Jantjies, 8 Renaldo Bothma, 7 Tinus du Plessis, 6 Jacques Burger (c), 5 Tjiuee Uanivi, 4 PJ van Lill, 3 Raoul Larson, 2 Torsten Van Jaarsveld, 1 Johnny Redelinghuys.
Replacements: 16 Louis van der Westhuizen, 17 Jaco Engels, 18 Johannes Coetzee, 19 Wian Conradie, 20 Rohan Kitshoff, 21 Johan Tromp, 22 Damian Stevens, 23 Heinrich Smit.

Date: Wednesday, September 19
Venue: Sandy Park, Exeter
Kick-off: 20:00 local 
Referee: George Clancy (Ireland)
Assistant Referees: Romain Poite (France), Stuart Berry (South Africa)
TMO: Shaun Veldsman (South Africa)