Ten teams in 2015/16 Formula E season

It was announced earlier in the week that eight manufacturers would supply teams in Formula E's second season, leading some to think that there would only be eight teams taking part, rather than the ten this season.

However, clarity has been provided on the matter, with Formula E CEO Alejandro Agag explaining that the manufacturers would supply multiple teams.

“One of the key elements of Formula E is the rule that we have implemented that all of the teams can raise their hand and say ‘I would like to have your powertrain’ and the manufacturers are obliged to sell to any given team at a maximum capped price,” said Agag. 

“With this rule small teams will be able to buy big teams technology and we can achieve a bigger level of competition.”

The eight confirmed manufacturers are are ABT Sportsline, Andretti, Mahindra, Motomatica, NEXTEV TCR, Renault Sport, Venturi Automobiles and Virgin Racing Engineering.