Rea snatches Thailand pole by 0.003s

Jonathan Rea

Jonathan Rea denied Tom Sykes by the narrowest of margins as he snatched the World Superbike pole position in Thailand on Saturday.

The two Kawasaki riders were once again a superior force, while Red Bull Honda's Leon Camier joined them on the front row.

Rea snatched pole by producing a late lap of 1m 32.814s, edging Sykes by just 0.003s and denying his team-mate the opportunity to take the outright pole position record after equalling Troy Corser’s career pole tally at the season opener in Australia.

Not even the handicap of the 2018 technical regulations could prevent Kawasaki from dominating proceedings at the Buriram track once again.

Camier will be happy with his third place behind the leading duo, however, while Jordi Torres secured an encouraging fourth place for MV Agusta.

Xavi Fores put his Barni Ducati in fifth as Pata Yamaha’s Alex Lowes completed the second row.

World Superbike championship leader Marco Melandri will start in seventh place, with Milwaukee Aprilia's Eugene Laverty just pipping Melandri's team-mate Chaz Davies to eighth.


1. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10RR 1m 32.814s
2. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10RR 1m 32.817s
3. Leon Camier GBR Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2 1m 32.922s
4. Jordi Torres ESP MV Agusta 1000 F4 1m 32.972s
5. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati Panigale R 1m 33.022s
6. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 1m 33.036s
7. Marco Melandri ITA Racing Ducati Panigale R 1m 33.103s
8. Eugene Laverty IRE Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 1m 33.119s
9. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati Panigale R 1m 33.148s
10. Michael van der Mark NED PATA Yamaha YZF-R1 1m 33.373s
11. Lorenzo Savadori ITA Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 1m 33.450s
12. Toprak Razgatlioglu TUR Puccetti Kawasaki ZX-10RR 1m 34.570s

Qualifying positions determined by Superpole 1

13. Leandro Mercado ARG Orelac Racing VerdNatura Kawasaki ZX-10RR 1m 34.271s
14. Jake Gagne USA Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2 1m 34.404s
15. Loris Baz FRA Althea BMW S1000RR 1m 34.477s
16. Roman Ramos ESP Team GoEleven Kawasaki ZX-10RR 1m 34.729s
17. PJ Jacobsen USA TripleM Honda CBR1000RR SP2 1m 34.782s
18. Yonny Hernandez COL Team Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10RR 1m 34.783s
19. Ondrej Jezek CZE Guandalini Yamaha YZF-R1 1m 35.925s