Marquez cruises to Austin victory

On a weekend where each Moto GP session seemed to contain incidents from the strange to the downright bizarre it was only fitting that moments before the flag was dropped in Texas a bridge over turn 3 leaked gallons of rain water onto a bone dry track to cause a 15 minute delay to proceedings.

Ducati's Andrea Dovizioso fired his GP-15 to the hole shot at turn 1 as the lights finally went out in Austin ahead of pole sitter Marc Marquez.

The Italian managed to guide his Ducati around the opening lap to cross the line ahead of the Spaniard to break a year-long run of first lap domination from the Repsol Honda rider.

Marquez appeared to be biding his time behind Dovizioso with Yamaha's Valentino Rossi lurking in the Honda's shadow in third.

Two-time Moto GP world champion Marquez finally made his move on lap 6 as he lunged beneath the Ducati into turn 12 to take the lead from the Italian.

Rossi attempted to follow Marquez's example just three laps later but Dovizioso fired straight back ahead of the Yamaha. Rossi again threw himself underneath the Ducati to snatch second from his compatriot but the GP-15's speed down the start/finish straight was too much for the Yamaha to contend with.

Rossi finally made his move stick just before turn 12 as Dovizioso desperately lunged back in an attempt to hold off the six-time Moto GP world champion and only missed the Yamaha's back tyre by a fraction.

Marquez managed to break the pack with a clear track in his sights upping his lead beyond two seconds on lap 10 while Rossi had trailed wide at turn 13 as he appeared to be struggling with front tyre grip with the wheel visibly deteriorating.

Former 125 champion Dovizioso surged back past Rossi with 5 laps remaining at turn 3 with ease to re-take second place, while just two places back Yamaha team-mate Jorge Lorenzo was gaining on fourth placed Iannone.

With just 3 laps to go Lorenzo decided to make his move and snatched fourth place from the Italian with a sweeping move through turns four and five.

Marquez crossed the line to begin his last lap with a lead well over three seconds. The Spaniard cruised to victory and his third straight win at the Circuit of the Americas to spark jubilant scenes in the Honda garage, the 22-year-old had grabbed his first victory of the 2015 season in emphatic style.

Dovizioso managed to get the better of his compatriot to finish second with Rossi bringing his Yamaha home in third.

Lorenzo battled through illness to a solid fourth position with Iannone guiding his Ducati to fifth after struggling for the majority of the weekend.

Tech 3 rider Bradley Smith managed a remarkable sixth position after qualifying in a disappointing ninth, he was followed by LCR Honda rider and fellow Brit Cal Crutchlow in seventh.

Aleix Espargaro guided his Suzuki to an impressive eighth position with team-mate Marverick Vinales following on in ninth.

Pramac racing's Danilo Petrucci rounded off the top 10, while Dani Pedrosa's replacement rider Hiroshi Aoyama guided his Repsol Honda to an eleventh placed finish.

Grand Prix of the Americas race results
Marc MARQUEZ               Repsol Honda Team 43m 47.150s             
Andrea DOVIZIOSO         Ducati Team 43m 49.504s            
Valentino ROSSI                               Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 43m50.270s
Jorge LORENZO                Movistar Yamaha MotoGP 43m53.832s
Andrea IANNONE            Ducati Team 43m 54.734s            
Bradley SMITH                  Monster Yamaha Tech 3 43m 57.707s     
Cal CRUTCHLOW               CWM LCR Honda 44m 4.117s      
Aleix ESPARGARO            Team Suzuki Ecstar 44m                6.175s 
Maverick VINALES           Team Suzuki Ecstar 44m                25.720s               
Danilo PETRUCCI              Pramac Racing 44m 28.946s        
Hiroshi AOYAMA              Repsol Honda Team 44m 34.349s             
Hector BARBERA              Avintia Racing 44m 34.489s         
Nicky HAYDEN                   Aspar 44m 43.634s          
Jack MILLER                        CWM LCR Honda 44m 43.881s   
Alvaro BAUTISTA              Factory Aprilia Gresini 44m 44.522s         
Eugene LAVERTY              Aspar 44m 46.048s          
Loris BAZ                              Athina Forward Racing 44m 55.937s        
Alex DE ANGELIS              Octo IodaRacing 45m 9.386s       
Karel ABRAHAM Cardion              AB Motoracing DNF        
Marco MELANDRI Factory            Aprilia Gresini DNF         
Yonny HERNANDEZ                        Pramac Racing DNF         
Mike DI MEGLIO                             Avintia Racing DNF           
Scott REDDING                                  Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS       DNF      
Stefan BRADL                                     Athina Forward Racing DNF       
Pol ESPARGARO                                 Monster Yamaha Tech 3 DNF