Double Jerez victory for Rea

Kawasaki Racing Team's Jonathan Rea won Race 2 for a double victory in the World Superbike Championship at the Circuito de Jerez on Sunday.

Joining him on the podium were the Ducati duo of Marco Melandri and Chaz Davies. 

A commanding performance gave Rea maximum points as the Northern Irishman notched a double win at a venue where he had not previously had a victory before.

Rea rode the race looking confident and relaxed jumping from ninth on the grid to first place by the end of the first lap. 

He got past Michael van der Mark (Pata Yamaha Official WorldSBK Team) to remain at the front from early in lap 2.

Rea crossed the line 2.7s seconds ahead of Melandri, who got the better of his teammate Davies in the final stages of the race. 

The victory gives Kawasaki the 2017 WorldSBK Manufacturers’ title.

There was a lot of action and overtaking behind the leaders with Alex Lowes (Pata Yamaha Official WorldSBK Team) finishing fourth and Tom Sykes (Kawasaki Racing Team) fifth. 

Van der Mark ended sixth, Xavi Fores (BARNI Racing Team) was seventh, after a good battle with former World Champion Sylvain Guintoli. 

Leandro Mercado (IODARacing) and Jordi Torres (Althea BMW Racing Team) completed the top ten.

The last round of the 2017 MOTUL FIM Superbike World Championship – the Acerbis Qatar Round – takes place from 2-4 November, under the floodlights in the desert at the Losail International Circuit.

Full Race Two results at Jerez, Spain:

1. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10RR 19 laps
2. Marco Melandri ITA Racing Ducati Panigale R 2.732s
3. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati Panigale R 3.974s
4. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 4.624s
5. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10RR 6.454s
6. Michael van der Mark NED PATA Yamaha YZF-R1 10.120s
7. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati Panigale R 15.594s
8. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Puccetti Kawasaki ZX-10RR 15.902s
9. Leandro Mercado ARG IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 16.396s
10. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR 19.129s
11. Roman Ramos ESP Team Go Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10RR 19.673s
12. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR 20.353s
13. Raffaele De Rosa ITA Althea BMW S1000RR 34.169s
14. Alessandro Andreozzi ITA Guandalini Yamaha YZF-R1 38.627s
15. Takumi Takahashi JPN Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2 45.421s
16. Riccardo Russo ITA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10RR 45.469s
17. Davide Giugliano ITA Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2 1 lap
18. Lorenzo Savadori ITA Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 2 laps