Rea powers to maiden Jerez win

Jonathan Rea won for the first time in front of the Jerez crowd following another consistent performance in Race One of the Spanish leg of the 2017 World Superbike Championship on Saturday.

The Brit, who has already sewn up the riders’ championship after a superlative season on his Kawasaki, took advantage of a late technical issue for superpole winner Marco Melandri to notch up his 13th victory of the season.

The result goes some way to making up for for his retirement in Race Two in France last time out.

Rea controlled the early stages of the race but a flying Melandri made his move with 13 laps to left, going inside Rea on Turn 9.

Soon after, it was Chaz Davies’ turn to have a go at Rea. The Ducati Panigale R rider grabbed second place, but Rea was able to respond shortly after, re-taking his position.

It looked as though Melandri was on his way to a memorable win but a technical issue saw him retire altogether with just for laps to go, leaving Rea to take the checkered flag.

Tom Sykes put together another solid performance to finish right behind Davies, while Yamaha Rider Alex Lowes was a comfortable fourth ahead of teammate Michael van der Mark.

Race One results

1. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10RR 19 laps
2. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati Panigale R +1.137s
3. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10RR +1.599s
4. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 +3.652s
5. Michael van der Mark NED PATA Yamaha YZF-R1 +7.329s
6. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Puccetti Kawasaki ZX-10RR +11.066s
7. Lorenzo Savadori ITA Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 +15.235s
9. Eugene Laverty IRE Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 +16.241s
8. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati Panigale R +16.273s
10. Roman Ramos ESP Team Go Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10RR +18.463s
11. Leandro Mercado ARG IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 +21.058s
12. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR +24.869s
13. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR +25.008s
14. Alessandro Andreozzi ITA Guandalini Yamaha YZF-R1 +34.028s
15. Ondrej Jezek CZE Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10RR +34.201s
16. Takumi Takahashi JPN Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2 +1m
17. Riccardo Russo ITA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10RR +2 laps

Did not finish

Davide Giugliano ITA Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2
Marco Melandri ITA Racing Ducati Panigale R
Dominic Schmitter SUI 81 HPC-Power Suzuki GSX-R1000