Davies clinches Race 1 victory at Lausitzring

Ducati works rider Chaz Davies clinched his fifth victory of the season after holding off Kawasaki duo Jonathan Rea and Tom Sykes at Lausitzring.

Davies made a lightning-quick start, starting from P6 on the grid and able to take full advantage when Rea ran wide at the first corner.

From there, Davies got the better of Sykes on the second with the recovering Rea trying to get back into contention.

Rea kept in touch with Davies for most of the race with the gap between him and Davies around half a second.

But Davies kept plenty in reserve and pulled out a 1.8 second victory ahead of the reigning World Champion.

Sykes settled for third, with Davies' teammate Marco Melandri pipping Leon Camier and Alex Lowes to fourth.

Lorenzo Savadori dropped from the front row to seventh as Xavi Fores, Jordi Torres and Eugene Laverty rounded off the top 10.

With nine races left in the season, Rea has extended his World Championship lead over teammate Sykes to 63 points; Davies is now 110 points adrift.

Race 1 results

1. Chaz Davies GBR Aruba.it Racing Ducati Panigale R 21 laps

2. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10RR 1.834s

3. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10RR 3.250s

4. Marco Melandri ITA Aruba.it Racing Ducati Panigale R 16.005s

5. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR 16.597s

6. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 16.783s

7. Lorenzo Savadori ITA Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 24.898s

8. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati Panigale R 31.137s

9. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR 31.373s

10. Eugene Laverty IRE Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 40.593s

11. Leandro Mercado ARG IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 47.796s

12. Randy Krummenacher SWI Puccetti Kawasaki ZX-10RR 48.509s

13. Markus Reiterberger GER Van Zon Remeha BMW S1000RR 50.795s

14. Roman Ramos ESP Team Go Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10RR 1m

15. Michael van der Mark NED PATA Yamaha YZF-R1 1m

16. Ayrton Badovini ITA Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10RR 1m

Did not finish

Raffaele De Rosa ITA Althea BMW S1000RR

Pawel Szkopek POL Pazera Racing Team Yamaha YZF-R1

Riccardo Russo ITA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10RR

Ondrej Jezek CZE Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10RR

Davide Giugliano ITA Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2

Massimo Roccoli ITA Guandalini Yamaha YZF-R1

Did not start

Stefan Bradl GER Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2