Di Grassi wins Formula E title after Buemi bombs

Jean-Eric Vergne won the race, but Lucas Di Grassi was crowned Formula E champion at the season-ending Hydro-Quebec Montreal ePrix on Sunday.

Di Grassi became the third champion in three seasons of Formula E as rival Sebastien Buemi endured a horror race.

Starting from 13th place Buemi’s race got worse as he picked up some damage at Turn 1 after Stephane Sarrazin spun following contact from Daniel Abt.

Buemi was forced into the pits for repairs which lost him even more places, and although he managed to work back through the field he could only finish in 11th place.

Di Grassi took advantage of his rival’s misfortune to coast through the race, falling to 10th place at one point, he then got back to sixth before letting his team-mate Abt past on the final lap to finish in seventh place.

Di Grassi, runner up to Buemi last season, was in tears after snatching the title in dramatic fashion, overcoming a 10-point deficit on the final weekend thanks to his opponent’s struggles.

The title battle diverted attention from Vergne’s first Formula E win.

Vergne battled with pole winner Felix Rosenqvist throughout the race before eventually passing the Mahindra driver to grab his and Techeetah’s first victory.

1 Jean-Eric Vergne Techeetah Renault 54m12.606s
2 Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra 0.896s
3 Jose Maria Lopez DS-Virgin Racing 4.468s
4 Sam Bird DS-Virgin Racing 7.114s
5 Nick Heidfeld Mahindra 21.933s
6 Daniel Abt ABT Schaeffler 24.444s
7 Lucas di Grassi ABT Schaeffler 24.855s
8 Stephane Sarrazin Techeetah Renault 26.038s
9 Jerome d’Ambrosio Faraday Future Dragon 28.282s
10 Tom Dillmann Venturi 28.591s
11 Sebastien Buemi Renault e.dams 35.170s
12 Mitch Evans Jaguar 36.548s
13 Robin Frijns Andretti 36.826s
14 Adam Carroll Jaguar 36.972s
15 Antonio Felix da Costa Andretti 39.720s
16 Nelson Piquet Jr. NextEV 46.751s
17 Oliver Turvey NextEV 49.116s
18 Maro Engel Venturi 1m33.530s
19 Loic Duval Faraday Future Dragon 3 Laps
– Nicolas Prost Renault e.dams DNF