Marquez quickest in frantic FP3 session

Marc Marquez finished top of the timesheet in Saturday's FP3 session for the German MotoGP at the Sachsenring.

The reigning World Champion set a 1:20.745 in dry conditions, over a second quicker than his previous best time in FP1 and comfortably sealing his place in Q2 as a result.

Maverick Vinales recovered from early off to finish in P2, while Jonas Folger's consistent pace throughout the session saw him finish inside the top three.

Aleix Espargaro completed an all-Spanish top four, with Cal Crutchlow coming home in P5.

Valentino Rossi, who suffered his second breakdown of the weekend, ended all danger of having to go into Q1 by rising from P14 to P6 when switching back to his number one bike, equipped with fresh soft tyres.

The two Ducati drivers, Jorge Lorenzo and Andrea Dovizioso, finished P7 and P8 respectively, with Dani Pedrosa following in P9.

Alvaro Bautista was the last rider to seal his place in Q2, leaving the likes of Danil Petrucci – who crashed at Turn 11 – and Johann Zarco, also a faller, with work to do in Q1 later on Saturday afternoon.

The session was extended from 45 to 55 minutes to give riders extra dry time on the new track surface after a wet FP2.

1.    Marc Marquez    ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)    1m 20.745s [Lap 30/33]    291km/h (Top Speed)
2.    Maverick Viñales    ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)    1m 20.915s 0.170s    [27/28]    295km/h
3.    Jonas Folger    GER Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)*    1m 21.198s 0.453s    [25/25]    291km/h
4.    Aleix Espargaro    ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)    1m 21.209s 0.464s    [22/25]    290km/h
5.    Cal Crutchlow    GBR LCR Honda (RC213V)    1m 21.275s 0.530s    [26/28]    291km/h
6.    Valentino Rossi    ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)    1m 21.311s 0.566s    [22/22]    292km/h
7.    Jorge Lorenzo    ESP Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17)    1m 21.373s 0.628s    [25/26]    294km/h
8.    Andrea Dovizioso    ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17)    1m 21.422s 0.677s    [22/23]    293km/h
9.    Dani Pedrosa    ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)    1m 21.480s 0.735s    [28/28]    293km/h
10.    Alvaro Bautista    ESP Pull&Bear Aspar Team (Desmosedici GP16)    1m 21.497s 0.752s    [26/27]    294km/h
11.    Tito Rabat    ESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)    1m 21.608s 0.863s    [25/28]    288km/h
12.    Danilo Petrucci    ITA Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP17)    1m 21.623s 0.878s    [19/25]    293km/h
13.    Hector Barbera    ESP Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP16)    1m 21.658s 0.913s    [22/28]    294km/h
14.    Jack Miller    AUS Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V)    1m 21.835s 1.090s    [18/28]    289km/h
15.    Scott Redding    GBR Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP16)    1m 21.897s 1.152s    [20/23]    291km/h
16.    Alex Rins    ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)*    1m 21.925s 1.180s    [26/29]    291km/h
17.    Johann Zarco    FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)*    1m 21.934s 1.189s    [27/27]    291km/h
18.    Pol Espargaro    ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16)    1m 21.945s 1.200s    [18/27]    292km/h
19.    Andrea Iannone    ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR)    1m 22.018s 1.273s    [27/28]    294km/h
20.    Loris Baz    FRA Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP15)    1m 22.089s 1.344s    [21/24]    291km/h
21.    Bradley Smith    GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16)    1m 22.350s 1.605s    [23/23]    289km/h
22.    Mika Kallio    FIN Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16)    1m 22.380s 1.635s    [24/30]    289km/h
23.    Sam Lowes    GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)*    1m 22.569s 1.824s    [4/17]    289km/h
24.    Karel Abraham    CZE Pull&Bear Aspar Team (Desmosedici GP15)    1m 22.724s 1.979s    [19/24]    290km/h