Revised Baku GP starting grid

Penalties for both McLaren drivers and Carlos Sainz means the Baku grid, at least the lower half, looks somewhat different to the qualifying timesheets.

Sainz will start Sunday's grand prix in the Azerbaijan capital from 15th place on the grid after incurring a three-place penalty for causing a collision at the previous race in Montreal.

Meanwhile Stoffel Vandoorne and Fernando Alonso would make up the final row of the grid were it not for Jolyon Palmer not taking part in qualifying.

As such Vandoorne, with a 35-place penalty for changing engine components and receiving a new gearbox, is P18 with Alonso in 19th place. 

The Spaniard has a 40-place penalty for changing power unit elements

The grid
1 Lewis Hamilton
2 Valtteri Bottas
3 Kimi Räikkönen
4 Sebastian Vettel
5 Max Verstappen
6 Sergio Perez
7 Esteban Ocon
8 Lance Stroll
9 Felipe Massa
10 Daniel Ricciardo
11 Daniil Kvyat
12 Kevin Magnussen
13 Nico Hulkenberg
14 Pascal Wehrlein
15 Carlos Sainz *
16 Romain Grosjean
17 Marcus Ericsson
18 Stoffel Vandoorne **
19 Fernando Alonso ***
20 Jolyon Palmer

* three grid places for causing a collision at the previous round.
** 35 places for use of additional power unit elements and an unscheduled gearbox change.
*** 40 places for use of additional power unit elements

Experience the full coverage of the FIA Formula One season throughout 2017 on FOX Sports Play, where you can watch LIVE races from angles, unlike any other, highlights, interviews, behind the scenes and much more. Don’t miss it!