Nine wins in a row for incredible Sykes

It was a historic day at Donington Park as Tom Sykes claimed a record ninth consecutive WSBK victory at the famous circuit.

Championship leader Jonathan Rea suffered a heavy fall in the closing stages of the race to relinquish second place.

Chaz Davies was the early leader but lost control of his Racing Ducati at Goddards on lap six, setting the stage for an all-star battle between Sykes and Rea, who quickly broke away from the chasing pack.

Rea held the lead at first, but Sykes made his first serious move on lap 14, snatching the lead up the inside at Melbourne Loop before Rea retook the lead at Goddards.

But Sykes wasn't done yet. Three laps later, he made another pass at the Melbourne Loop and this time it stuck.

Now flying on his factory Kawasaki, the Brit set a number of storming lap times to leave Rea trailing in his wake. 

The Northern Irishman at least looked a dead cert for second, but with just three laps to go he lost the rear grip of his bike and took a heavy fall.

That enabled Sykes to coast to a record ninth consecutive win at Donington, with Leon Haslam promoted to second place on the Puccetti Kawasaki.

There was drama behind the top finishers as Alex Lowes, who had fought all the way back up to fourth after dropping down to 20th following an early clash with Eugene Laverty and Haslam, was promoted to third when Marco Melandri ran wide at the exit of the Melbourne Loop and on to the grass on the final lap. 

Melandri managed to recover and take fourth place, just ahead of Michael van der Mark in fifth and Leon Camier on the MV Agusta in sixth. 

Race 1 Times

Leon Haslam is wildcarding for Puccetti Kawasaki, Jake Dixon is wildcarding for RAF Reserves Kawasaki.

1. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10RR 23 laps 
2. Leon Haslam GBR Puccetti Kawasaki ZX-10R 16.500s 
3. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 19.170s 
4. Marco Melandri ITA Racing Ducati Panigale R 19.699s 
5. Michael van der Mark NED PATA Yamaha YZF-R1 21.454s 
6. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR 23.376s 
7. Leandro Mercado ARG IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 24.979s 
8. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati Panigale R 26.988s 
9. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR 34.910s 
10. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati Panigale R 35.178s 
11. Roman Ramos ESP Team Go Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R 38.585s 
12. Lorenzo Savadori ITA Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 39.824s 
13. Eugene Laverty IRE Milwaukee Aprilia RSV4 44.623s 
14. Randy Krummenacher SWI Puccetti Kawasaki ZX-10R 52.539s 
15. Raffaele De Rosa ITA Althea BMW S1000RR 58.875s 
16. Ayrton Badovini ITA Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m  
17. Alex de Angelis SMR Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m  
18. Ondrej Jezek CZE Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m  
Did not finish 
Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10RR 
Jake Dixon GBR RAF Reserves Kawasaki ZX-10R
Stefan Bradl GER Red Bull Honda CBR1000RR SP2
Riccardo Russo ITA Guandalini Yamaha YZF-R1