Dovizioso tames damp Le Mans track

Andrea Dovizioso claimed the fastest time in the second free practice session at Le Mans on Friday.

The ITA Ducati Team rider managed to edge defending MotoGP champion Marc Marquez with a time of 1:41.673s, just half a tenths quicker than the Spaniard.

The Italian made the most of his final run out, edging Scott Redding who spent much of the practice at the top of the timesheet with his 1:41.925s.

Redding’s Octo Pramac Racing teammate, Danilo Petrucci, moved ahead of Redding for a short before Dovizioso’s hot lap. 

FP1 Leader Jack Miller would have to settle for seventh place, while rider’s championship leader Valentino Rossi finished in tenth.

Full FP2 results:

1. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17)  1m41.673s
2. Marc Marquez    ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V)  1m41.716s 0.043s    
3. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP17) 1m41.906s 0.233s    
4. Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP16) 1m41.925s 0.252s    
5. Andrea Iannone ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m42.078s 0.405s    
6. Alvaro Bautista ESP Pull&Bear Aspar Team (Desmosedici GP16) 1m42.625s 0.952s    
7. Jack Miller AUS Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m42.729s 1.056s    
8. Maverick Viñales ESP    Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)    1m42.894s 1.221s    
9. Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 1m42.998s 1.325s    
10. Valentino Rossi ITA  Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1)    1m43.006s 1.333s    
11. Aleix Espargaro ESP  Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)    1m43.177s 1.504s    
12. Loris Baz    FRA Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP15) 1m43.250s 1.577s    
13. Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) 1m43.340s 1.667s    
14. Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m44.177s 2.504s    
15. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 1m44.276s 2.603s    
16. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1m44.572s 2.899s    
17. Tito Rabat ESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) 1m44.678s 3.005s    
18. Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP16) 1m45.074s 3.401s    
19. Jonas Folger GER Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1m45.119s 3.446s    
20. Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16) 1m45.622s 3.949s    
21. Dani Pedrosa ESP  Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1m45.804s 4.131s    
22. Karel Abraham CZE Pull&Bear Aspar Team (Desmosedici GP15) 1m47.127s 5.454s    
23. Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16) 1m47.701s 6.028s