Pedrosa wins MotoGP in Spain from pole position

Dani Pedrosa led from start to finish as he beat the field to win MotoGP's Spanish Grand Prix on Sunday.

The 31-year-old Pedrosa got off to a good start from pole position and opened up a comfortable lead at Circuito de Jerez, eventually cruising to victory after 27 laps.

Pedrosa's Honda teammate, and defending champion, Marc Marquez came second while Jorge Lorenzo finished third in an all-Spanish podium.

Championship leader Valentino Rossi, who started seventh on the grid, could only finish in 10 place and Maverick Vinales, who is second in the standings, ended in sixth place.

Rossi's advantage at the top of the leaderboard has now been cut to two points over teammate Vinales.

Marquez is four points behind Rossi while Sunday's win means Pedrosa is 10 poits adrift of the leader.

Race results:

1.Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 45m 26.827s

2.Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 45m 32.963s

3.Jorge Lorenzo    ESP Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 45m 41.594s

4.Johann Zarco FRA Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)* 45m 44.428s

5.Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP17) 45m 49.740s

6.Maverick Viñales ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 45m 51.383s

7.Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP17) 45m 51.786s

8.Jonas Folger    GER Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1)* 45m 54.548s

9.Aleix Espargaro ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP) 45m 58.060s

10.Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 46m 5.509s

11.Scott Redding GBR Octo Pramac Racing (Desmosedici GP16) 46m 7.806s

12.Hector Barbera ESP Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP16) 46m 10.026s

13.Loris Baz FRA Reale Avintia Racing (Desmosedici GP15) 46m 10.038s

14.Bradley Smith GBR Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16) 46m 14.791s

15.Karel Abraham CZE Pull&Bear Aspar Team (Desmosedici GP15) 46m 18.106s

16.Sam Lowes GBR Factory Aprilia Gresini (RS-GP)* 46m 35.712s

17.Takuya Tsuda    JPN Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 46m 54.277s

Andrea Iannone ITA Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) DNF

Tito Rabat ESP Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) DNF

Cal Crutchlow GBR LCR Honda (RC213V) DNF

Jack Miller AUS Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS (RC213V) DNF

Alvaro Bautista    ESP Pull&Bear Aspar Team (Desmosedici GP16) DNF

Pol Espargaro ESP Red Bull KTM Factory Racing (RC16) DNF