Vinales tops FP2 in Argentina as Marquez improves

Maverick Vinales held onto top stop in FP2 at the Argentina MotoGP, while world champion Marc Marquez improved greatly from the morning session to claim second.

Marquez, who finished down in 11th in FP1, initially set a fastest time of 1m40.670s in the afternoon session using a medium front and a hard rear tyre.

Aspar rider Alvaro Bautista briefly took over at the top, but Marquez hit the front again after switching to hard tyres front and rear.

It looked like that might remain as the quickest time, but with the session winding down and the threat of rain looming for FP3 on Saturday, most of the riders opted to run soft rear tyres for a time attack in the closing stages to avoid a potential Q1 appearance.

Several riders were able to beat Marquez's time – including the Spaniard himself – but once again it was wonderkid Maverick Vinales who had the measure of them all, posting a 1m39.477s with the same tyre combination to beat Marquez by a 0.301 seconds.

Karel Abraham and Alvaro Bautista took third and fourth respectively for Aspar Ducati, followed by Danilo Petrucci for Pramac Ducati.

Loriz Baz narrowly pipped Cal Crutchlow for Avintia Ducati.

While Marquez was able to improve dramatically from FP1, the same could not be said for several other big names, who may have to tackle Q1 on Saturday if forecast rain affects third practice.

Dani Pedrosa was 13th on his Honda after suffering a low-speed crash at Turn 13 during his second run, followed by Andrea Dovizioso in the first of the Ducatis.

Valentino Rossi had to settle for 16th, 1.054s off the pace of Yamaha team-mate Vinales, while Jorge Lorenzo was a further two places further back.


1 Maverick Vinales Yamaha 1m39.477s 20
2 Marc Marquez Honda 1m39.778s 0.301s 19
3 Karel Abraham Aspar Ducati 1m39.880s 0.403s 17
4 Alvaro Bautista Aspar Ducati 1m39.922s 0.445s 20
5 Danilo Petrucci Pramac Ducati 1m39.960s 0.483s 20
6 Loris Baz Avintia Ducati 1m40.120s 0.643s 20
7 Cal Crutchlow LCR Honda 1m40.124s 0.647s 18
8 Jonas Folger Tech3 Yamaha 1m40.157s 0.680s 20
9 Aleix Espargaro Aprilia 1m40.175s 0.698s 18
10 Andrea Iannone Suzuki 1m40.250s 0.773s 18
11 Scott Redding Pramac Ducati 1m40.338s 0.861s 17
12 Johann Zarco Tech3 Yamaha 1m40.340s 0.863s 20
13 Dani Pedrosa Honda 1m40.345s 0.868s 15
14 Andrea Dovizioso Ducati 1m40.399s 0.922s 16
15 Hector Barbera Avintia Ducati 1m40.431s 0.954s 14
16 Valentino Rossi Yamaha 1m40.531s 1.054s 19
17 Jack Miller MVDS Honda 1m40.588s 1.111s 19
18 Jorge Lorenzo Ducati 1m40.599s 1.122s 20
19 Tito Rabat MVDS Honda 1m40.908s 1.431s 18
20 Alex Rins Suzuki 1m41.083s 1.606s 18
21 Pol Espargaro KTM 1m41.632s 2.155s 20
22 Bradley Smith KTM 1m42.074s 2.597s 19
23 Sam Lowes Aprilia 1m42.179s 2.702s 18