Mexico City ePrix Stat Attack

This weekend Formula E heads to Mexico City for the fourth round of the 2016/2017 season and you’ll find the most revealing numbers about the weekend’s action right here.

As the sport of Formula E continues to grow, the product viewers are able to enjoy is improving at a rapid rate.

Three races down, and the third season is already shaping up to be a beauty.

This weekend we’re at the Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez track and if you are wanting some context to be able to make better sense of the race you’ve come to the right place.

Here are five statistics you can impress your mates with.

Sebastien Buemi to make it four from four?


Buemi is currently on the longest winning streak in Formula E history – he has won all three races this campaign.

The Renault e.dams driver, who hails from Switzerland, lifted the Championship last year and has been part of the racing series since it started in 2015. He has been victorious in a staggering 37.5 per cent of all Formula E races!

He looks unstoppable at the moment and already has a 29-point lead at the top of the Drivers’ Championship.

Esteban Gutierrez to become the 48th driver to compete in Formula E


This weekend will mark the Formula E debut of Gutierrez. The former Sauber, Ferrari and Haas Formula 1 team member is expected to do great things in this particular code of motor racing.

He will turn-out for TECHEETAH who currently occupy fifth in the Teams’ Championship.

Racing in front of his home crowd, Gutierrez will be hopeful of recording TECHEETAH’s first win of this season.

Will the pole position curse be broken?


In all three meetings this season, the winner of qualifying has been unable to make starting the race from the best position count in their favour – there is yet to be a race victor who has accelerated from pole.

In Hong Kong Nelson Piquet Jr. won qualifying but Buemi won the race. In Marrakesh, Jean-Éric Vergne started at the front of the grid but Buemi won the race. While in Buenos Aires, Vergne again was fastest in qualifying but Buemi again won the race. Seeing a trend here?

The margins in Mexico can be small


Following Lucas di Grassi’s disqualification at the 2016 edition of this race for a weight violation, the winner was decided by the smallest margin in the history of the sport.

There was just 0.106 seconds separating Jerome d’Ambrosio from Buemi that day, with the former taking the honours.

110 000 fans will cram into the Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez stadium


The Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez stadium can hold up to 110 000 spectators.

The arena is an extremely unique one. In addition to the incredible atmosphere that the Mexican public create, the venue is also special because it incorporates a baseball stadium at Turn 14 (Peraltada) as part of the track.

The stadium, called Foro Sol, was once home to the Diablos Rojos del México.