Buemi makes it three from three in Buenos Aires

Sebastien Buemi and Renault e.Dams continued their formidable Formula E partnership on Saturday, as the Swiss driver picked up his third straight win of the season at the Buenos Aires e-Prix.

Having started with back-to-back victories in Hong Kong and Marrakesh, the Swiss driver entered the third round of the championship at the Puerto Madero Street Circuit understandably confident.

Buemi only qualified in third, but once again proved unstoppable in the race, finishing almost three seconds clear of Jean-Eric Vergne – securing a first podium for Techeetah – and a further four seconds ahead of pole-sitter Lucas di Grassi.

Buemi's team-mate Nico Prost crossed the line in fourth, eight seconds back, closely followed by NextEV NIO's Nelson Piquet Jr. 

Loic Duval was a distant sixth for Dragon Racing.

Di Grassi got away cleanly at the start of the race, but it took little more than three laps for both Vergne and Buemi to pass him.

Vergne wasn't able to hold on to the lead for very long either, surrendering it to Buemi at the first corner, and the champion never looked back from there.

Buemi managed to keep Vergne at arm's length for the remainder of the race as he rode to victory, with di Grassi battling his way back up from fifth to snatch the final spot on the podium.

The Brazilian's result could be in doubt, however, as he was under placed under investigation for an alleged unsafe release.

Buemi's hat-trick of victories already sees him a full 44 points clear at the top of the Drivers' Championship table, leaving closest pursuers di Grassi and Prost with lots of work to do.

Buenos Aires e-Prix classification

1 Sebastien Buemi Renault eDAMS 37 Laps
2 Jean-Eric Vergne Techeetah 2.996
3 Lucas di Grassi ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport 6.921
4 Nico Prost Renault eDAMS 8.065
5 Nelson Piquet Jr NextEV NIO 9.770
6 Loic Duval Dragon Racing 35.103
7 Daniel Abt ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport 35.801
8 Jerome D’Ambrosio Dragon Racing 36.335
9 Oliver Turvey NextEV NIO 37.111
10 Jose-Maria Lopez DS Virgin Racing 38.206
11 Antonio Felix da Costa Andretti 43.740
12 Stephane Sarrazin Venturi 44.243
13 Mitch Evans Jaguar Racing 44.918
14 Robin Frijns Andretti 49.683
15 Nick Heidfeld Mahindra Racing 51.456
16 Ma Qing Hua Techeetah 1 Lap
17 Adam Carroll Jaguar Racing 1 Lap
18 Felix Rosenqvist Mahindra Racing 3 Laps
19 Maro Engel Venturi 11 Laps
20 Sam Bird DS Virgin Racing 17 Laps