Dovizioso fastest in FP2 at Mugello

He was followed by Honda's Marc Marquez, 0.164s adrift and Jorge Lorenzo on a Yamaha, 0.373s behind Dovizioso.

A mistake in the closing stages of the session dropped Valentino Rossi down to ninth having been in second place early in FP2. 

Andrea Iannone on the Ducati GP15 was fourth fastest ahead of Bradley Smith (Monster Yamaha Tech 3) and Cal Crutchlow (CWM LCR Honda). Aleix Espargaro on his Suzuki was seventh.  

Finishing in eight place was Scott Redding in FP2 after finishing seventh in the morning session.  

Pol Espargaro was tenth on the Monster Yamaha Tech 3 M1 behind Rossi, followed by Ducati rider Michele Pirro in 11th after getting a wild-card entry. 

FP2 Results:
1. Andrea Dovizioso ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP15) 1.47.479s  
2. Marc Marquez ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1.47.643s 0.164s 
3. Jorge Lorenzo ESP Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 1.47.852s 0.373s 
4. Andrea Iannone ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP15) 1.47.994s 0.515s 
5. Bradley Smith GBR Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1.48.038s 0.559s 
6. Cal Crutchlow GBR CWM LCR Honda (RC213V) 1.48.124s 0.645s  
7. Aleix Espargaro ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 1.48.137s 0.658s  
8. Scott Redding GBR Estrella Galicia 0,0 Marc VDS 1.48.164s 0.685s  
9. Valentino Rossi ITA Movistar Yamaha MotoGP (YZR-M1) 1.48.211s 0.732s  
10. Pol Espargaro ESP Monster Yamaha Tech 3 (YZR-M1) 1.48.283s 0.804s  
11. Michele Pirro ITA Ducati Team (Desmosedici GP15) 1.48.317s 0.838s  
12. Danilo Petrucci ITA Octo Pramac Racing 1.48.419s 0.940s
13. Dani Pedrosa ESP Repsol Honda Team (RC213V) 1.48.435s 0.956s  
14. Yonny Hernandez COL Octo Pramac Racing 1.48.483s 1.004s 
15. Maverick Vinales ESP Team Suzuki Ecstar 1.48.493s 1.014s
16. Stefan Bradl GER Athina Forward Racing 1.48.694s 1.215s 
17. Karel Abraham CZE Cardion AB Motoracing 1.48.851s 1.372s
18. Hector Barbera ESP Avintia Racing 1.48.926s 1.447s 
19. Jack Miller AUS CWM LCR Honda (RC213V-RS) 1.49.030s 1.551s  
20. Mike Di Meglio FRA Avintia Racing 1.49.729s 2.250s 
21. Alvaro Bautista ESP Factory Aprilia Gresini 1.49.741s 2.262s 
22. Loris Baz FRA Athina Forward Racing 1.49.825s 2.346s
23. Eugene Laverty IRL Aspar MotoGP Team 1.49.864s 2.385s
24. Nicky Hayden USA Aspar MotoGP Team 1.49.866s 2.387s 
25. Alex De Angelis RSM E-Motion IodaRacing 1.50.477s 2.998s  
26. Marco Melandri ITA Factory Aprilia Gresini 1.51.800s 4.321s