Buemi victorious in Marrakesh

Sebastien Buemi overcame a five-place grid penalty to win round two of the Formula E championship season in Morocco on Saturday.

Buemi was penalised after his fire extinguisher came in underweight in qualifying, but he was still able to fight his way back to the front, overtaking pole sitter Felix Rosenqvist – who led for most of the race after a strong start – with six laps to go.

The Swiss Renault e.dams driver now leads rival Lucas di Grassi of ABT Schaeffler Audi Sport by 22 points in the title race.

Rosenqvist was also passed by Sam Bird of DS Virgin Racing late in the race, but held on for third as Mahindra secured their second successive podium finish.

Bird's second place was the first podium finish for Virgin this season.

Buemi's team-mate Nicolas Prost finished in fourth place, followed by Di Grassi and team-mate Daniel Abt in fifth and sixth respectively.

British driver Oliver Turvey finished in the points once again with his seventh place showing.

The race was not a happy one for Jean-Eric Vergne, who looked set for a much better performance before receiving a drive-through penalty for speeding during his mandatory car swap pit stop.

Vergne ultimately had to settle for eighth place.


1 Sebastien Buemi 47m40.840s –
2 Sam Bird Virgin 47m43.297s 2.457s
3 Felix Rosenqvist 47m48.035s 7.195s
4 Nicolas Prost 47m52.426s 11.586s
5 Lucas di Grassi 47m54.611s 13.771s
6 Daniel Abt 47m59.073s 18.233s
7 Oliver Turvey 48m02.550s 21.710s
8 Jean-Eric Vergne 48m08.851s 28.011s
9 Nick Heidfeld 48m14.539s 33.699s
10 Jose Maria Lopez 48m14.703s 33.863s
11 Robin Frijns 48m17.932s 37.092s
12 Stephane Sarrazin 48m21.523s 40.683s
13 Jerome d'Ambrosio 48m22.874s 42.034s
14 Adam Carroll 48m29.866s 49.026s
15 Ma Qing Hua 48m31.273s 50.433s
16 Nelson Piquet Jr. 48m56.292s 1m15.452s
17 Mitch Evans 47m55.284s 1 Lap
18 Loic Duval 48m51.146s 3 Laps
– Maro Engel 49m11.067s Retirement
– Antonio Felix da Costa 35m23.385s Retirement