Davies claims sixth straight win, Rea third

Chaz Davies won his sixth straight race as he claimed honours in Race 2 of the World Superbikes championships in Qatar on Sunday.

Davies chose to make fast start at Turn 1 as he made a move on newly-crowned world champion Jonathan Rea, but the latter re-took the lead afer the second corner.

The 29-year-old Davies though did forge ahead on the opening lap after Rea ran wide which dropped the champion to 13th place.

Local rider Saeed Al-Sulaiti, on a Kawasaki, saw his bike catch fire spilling oil on the track, which saw the race being red-flagged.

Tom Sykes, who past Sylvain Guintoli into second place, maintained his position upon the resumption but Welshman Davies rapidly extended the gap even further.

Rea fought back from his lowly position up into third place and soon had his sights on Sykes, who he went past with three laps remaining.

However, Rea did not have the overtaking capacity to beat Davies and let Sykes past him into second place on the final lap, allowing the latter to beat Davies to second in the championship standings.

Guintoli finished fourth, ahead of Leon Haslam and Jordi Torres while European Superstock champion and wildcard Raffaele de Rosa could only finish in ninth place.


1     Chaz Davies      Ducati     
2      Tom Sykes      Kawasaki     5.855
3      Jonathan Rea      Kawasaki     6.376
4      Sylvain Guintoli      Yamaha     8.493
5      Leon Haslam      Kawasaki     11.862
6      Jordi Torres      BMW     12.232
7      Nicky Hayden      Honda     13.599
8      Xavi Forés      Ducati     14.210
9      Raffaele De Rosa      BMW     14.282
10      Alex Lowes      Yamaha     14.414
11      Michael van der Mark     Honda     15.169
12      Lorenzo Savadori      Aprilia     19.401
13      Leon Camier      MV Agusta     22.236
14      Roman Ramos      Kawasaki     25.995
15      Markus Reiterberger      BMW     29.701
16      Luca Scassa      Ducati     33.205
17      Gianluca Vizziello      Kawasaki     44.627
18      Dominic Schmitter      Kawasaki     44.753
19      Peter Sebestyen      Yamaha     45.186
20      Pawel Szkopek      Yamaha     1'00.135

Did not finish

Karel Abraham      BMW     1 lap
Alex de Angelis      Aprilia     10 laps