No changes to the Mexican GP grid

For the second race in succession the drivers will line up on the grid in the same order in which they qualified as there are no penalties ahead of the Mexican GP.

Lewis Hamilton will take his position at the sharp end of the grid having qualified ahead of his championship rival Nico Rosberg.

Should Hamilton finish ninth or higher in Mexico, the title race will continue into Brazil.

However, should he finish P10 or lower and Rosberg win the race, the German will wrap up the World title.

Romain Grosjean and Jolyon Palmer are at the back of the grid with the Haas driver lacking pace in qualifying and Palmer sitting out the session with a cracked chassis.

The grid
1 Hamilton Mercedes 1:18.704
2 Rosberg Mercedes 1:18.958
3 Verstappen Red Bull 1:19.054
4 Ricciardo Red Bull 1:19.133
5 Hulkenberg Force India 1:19.330
6 Raikkonen Ferrari 1:19.376
7 Vettel Ferrari 1:19.381
8 Bottas Williams 1:19.551
9 Massa Williams 1:20.032
10 Sainz Toro Rosso 1:20.378
11 Alonso McLaren 1:20.282
12 Perez Force India 1:20.287
13 Button McLaren 1:20.673.
14 Magnussen Renault 1:21.131
15 Ericsson Sauber 1:21.536
16 Wehrlein Manor 1:21.785
17 Gutierrez Haas 1:21.401
18 Kvyat Toro Rosso 1:21.401
19 Nasr Sauber 1:21.692
20 Ocon Manor 1:21.881
21 Grosjean Haas 1:21.916
22 Palmer Renault no time