Rea storms to Qatar pole

Jonathan Rea is within touching distance of the World Superbike title after grabbing pole position at Losail.

The 29-year-old is 48 points clear at the top of the standings and needs just two points from this weekend's final round in Qatar to retain his title.

His nearest challenger, Kawasaki team-mate Tom Sykes, could only qualify in fifth place.

Rea was pushed hardest in qualifying by Nicky Hayden, who was also very quick in practice, and the Honda rider was able to hit the front with a provisional pole time of 1m 56.561s.

But Rea wasn't about to adopt a conservative approach so close to the finish line, and he would pip Hayden by setting the fastest ever lap around the Qatar track with a 1m 56.356s. 

Chaz Davies completed the front row for Racing Ducati and continues to look very dangerous. The Briton is on a four-race winning streak.

Pata Yamaha's Sylvain Guintoli crossed the line fourth fastest and heads the second row ahead of Yamaha's Sylvain Guintoli and Sykes, who struggled with technical issues during qualifying.

Guintoli's team-mate Alex Lowes completes the second row after pipping Barni Ducati's Xavi Fores by just 0.004s.


1. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1m 56.356s 
2. Nicky Hayden USA Honda Racing CBR1000RR 1m 56.561s 
3. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati 1199R 1m 56.602s 
4. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Pata Crescent Yamaha R1 1m 56.866s 
5. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 1m 56.935s 
6. Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1 1m 57.014s 
7. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati 1199R 1m 57.018s 
8. Lorenzo Savadori ITA IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 1m 57.094s 
9. Michael van der Mark NED Honda Racing CBR1000RR 1m 57.126s 
10. Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR 1m 57.485s 
11. Davide Giugliano ITA Racing Ducati 1199R 1m 57.956s 
12. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR 1m 58.480s 

Grid positions determined by Superpole 1 

13. Raffaele De Rosa ITA Althea BMW S1000RR 1m 58.289s 
14. Josh Brookes AUS Milwaukee BMW S1000RR 1m 58.437s 
15. Alex de Angelis RSM IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4    1m 58.518s 
16. Leon Haslam GBR Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 58.622s 
17. Markus Reiterberger GER Althea BMW S1000RR 1m 58.633s 
18. Karel Abraham CZE Milwaukee BMW S1000RR 1m 58.934s 
19. Roman Ramos ESP GO Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 58.958s 
20. Saeed al Sulaiti QAT Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 59.734s 
21. Luca Scassa ITA VFT Racing Ducati Panigale R 1m 59.792s 
22. Gianluca Vizziello ITA Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 1m 59.968s 
23. Pawel Szkopek POL Team Toth Yamaha R1 2m 00.876s 
24. Dominic Schmitter SUI Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 2m 01.624s 
25. Peter Sebestyen POL Team Toth Yamaha R1 2m 01.667s