Davies wins but Kawasaki claim manufacturers’ title

Chaz Davies charged ahead of the battling Kawasakis to win Race 1 at Jerez but it was the latter that took the manufacturers' title.

It was more than just a race win on the line as Tom Sykes and Jonathan Rea lined up first and second on the Jerez grid on Saturday afternoon with the latter knowing that if he leave Spain having extended his lead in the standings by two points, the World Superbike title is his.

The team-mates made a flying start with Rea grabbing the holeshot but a lap later it was Sykes in the lead while Davies also made life difficult for Rea as he stormed through into second.

The three Brits, also the top three in the championship, battled hard with Davies up into the lead on Lap 4 as he put his soft front tyre to good use. The Ducati rider began to pull away from the Kawasaki team-mates, up by 2.4s midway through the 20-lap race.

Sykes in turn was dropping his team-mate, 2s separating the team-mates, while Nicky Hayden in fourth place was closing in on Rea's rear wheel. However, as the race progressed Hayden began to lose ground to the championship leader as he soft tyres seemed to go off.

Davies was not suffering the same troubles as he extended his lead by tenths lap after lap to hold a four second advantage going into the penultimate lap. Sykes in turn was 2.8s up on Rea.

Davies took the victory by 3.2s ahead of Sykes and Rea. It was Kawasaki, though, that wrapped up the manufacturers' title.

Hayden held on to finish fourth ahead of Michael van der Mark while Sylvain Guintoli was sixth.

Leon Camier, Jordi Torres, Markus Reiterberger and Joshua Brookes completed the top ten.

Xavi Fores and Davide Giugliano crashed at the start of Lap 2 while running inside the top six.

They were not the first two out as Saeed Al Sulaiti and Lucas Scassa went down on Lap 1.

Alex Lowes also crashed out as too did Matthieu Loussiano and Anthony West, although the latter he rejoined at the back of the field. West recovered to P14.

1. Chaz Davies Aruba.it Racing Ducati 1199R 20 laps
2. Tom Sykes Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 3.290
3. Jonathan Rea Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 7.151
4. Nicky Hayden Honda Racing CBR1000RR 13.212
5. Michael van der Mark Honda Racing CBR1000RR 13.251
6. Sylvain Guintoli Pata Crescent Yamaha R1 17.834
7. Leon Camier Agusta RC F4 RR 20.911
8. Jordi Torres Althea BMW S1000RR 26.182
9. Markus Reiterberger Althea BMW S1000RR 29.837
10. Josh Brookes Milwaukee BMW S1000RR 31.246
11. Alex de Angelis IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 32.399
12. Roman Ramos GO Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R 33.007
13. Lorenzo Savadori IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 36.266
14. Anthony West Kawasaki ZX-10R 61.064
15. Peter Sebestyen Team Toth Yamaha R1 67.941
16. Dominic Schmitter Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 68.160
17. Gianluca Vizziello Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 68.260
18. Karel Pesek Team Toth Yamaha R1 98.143
Did not finish
Matthieu Lussiana Team ASPI BMW S1000RR
Alex Lowes PATA Crescent Yamaha R1
Xavi Fores Barni Ducati 1199R
Davide Giugliano Aruba.it Racing Ducati 1199R
Luca Scassa VFT Racing Ducati Panigale R
Saeed al Sulaiti Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R