Rea extends his lead with German win

Jonathan Rea regained most of the points that he lost to Tom Sykes in the title fight on Saturday as he stormed to the victory in Sunday's wet German World Superbike race.

As the riders lined up on the grid ahead of the start, the rain began to fall at the Lausitzring resulting in a delayed start.

The race started 15 minutes later than scheduled and was reduced to a 20-lap outing. But with conditions treacherous for the riders, the race start was again delayed with a new 16-lap race announced for 13:45.

Once underway, with the track still very wet and the temperature down to 19'C, it was Sykes who took the early lead ahead of the twitching Rea and Race 1 winner Chaz Davies.

Rea, though, was leading at the end of Lap 1 after passing Sykes when the Brit ran wide at Turn 2.

Sykes' troubles continued as corners later he was down in the gravel as he lost the front end under braking. He rejoined in 24th place, 25 seconds behind his team-mate and championship rival, Rea.

Rea continued to lead the race but came under pressure from Davide Giugliano while Lorenzo Savadori was up to third having easily slid underneath Davies to run in a podium position.

Giugliano's chances of taking the victory came to nought on lap three when he went down at Turn 9, thrown from his Panigale in a high-side.

Savadori, who had been elevated to P2 by Giugliano's crash, joined the Ducati rider in the gravel, ending his challenge.

Next out were Anthony West and Jordi Torres, both riders crashing out midway through the 16-lap race. Markus Reiterberger added his name to the retirement list as did Alex Lowes, Saeed Al Sulaiti, Dominic Schmitter. Michael van der Mark looked to have but managed to rejoin despite his bike barrel-rolling several times through the gravel.

And all the while Rea pulled away from the chasing pack, which was led by Alex de Angelis and Xavi Fores.

The reigning World Champion stormed to the victory, taking the chequered flag and the 25 points by 9.3 seconds over de Angelis with Fores third. The result means Rea's championship lead is back up to 47 points.

Leon Camier was fourth ahead of Sylvain Guintoli and Davies, who struggled for pace in the wet.

Joshua Brookes was seventh while van der Mark recovered to eighth despite his crash. Roman Romas and Nicky Hayden completed the top ten with Sykes P12.

1. Jonathan Rea GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 16 laps
2. Alex de Angelis RSM IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4 +9.396
3. Xavi Fores ESP Barni Ducati 1199R 13.041
4. Leon Camier GBR MV Agusta RC F4 RR 15.728
5. Sylvain Guintoli FRA Pata Crescent Yamaha R1 17.100
6. Chaz Davies GBR Racing Ducati 1199R 19.780
7. Josh Brookes AUS Milwaukee BMW S1000RR 32.208
8. Michael van der Mark NED Honda Racing CBR1000RR 54.373
9. Roman Ramos ESP GO Eleven Kawasaki ZX-10R 57.271
10. Nicky Hayden USA Honda Racing CBR1000RR 59.671
11. Luca Scassa ITA VFT Racing Ducati Panigale R 61.938
12. Tom Sykes GBR Kawasaki Racing ZX-10R 74.028
13. Gianluca Vizziello ITA Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R 74.038
14. Pawel Szkopek POL Team Toth Yamaha R1 106.309
15. Karel Abraham CZE Milwaukee BMW S1000RR 111.775
16. Peter Sebestyen POL Team Toth Yamaha R1 1 lap
Did not finish
Dominic Schmitter SUI Grillini Kawasaki ZX-10R
Jordi Torres ESP Althea BMW S1000RR
Alex Lowes GBR PATA Crescent Yamaha R1
Saeed al Sulaiti QAT Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R
Markus Reiterberger GER Althea BMW S1000RR
Anthony West FRA Pedercini Kawasaki ZX-10R
Lorenzo Savadori ITA IodaRacing Aprilia RSV4
Davide Giugliano ITA Racing Ducati 1199R